JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Dune HD Ultra Media Player Remote

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Code Search (Closed)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
slr_65



Joined: 04 Dec 2009
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:03 pm    Post subject: Dune HD Ultra Media Player Remote Reply with quote

1. Device: Dune HD Ultra
2. Type of device: Media Player
3. Year: 2008
4. JP1/UEI Remote model: Atlas OCAP 1056B1 (Black)
5. Do you have a JP1 cable? Yes
6. Still have original remote? No, unfortunately not
7. Checked the file section? Yes
8. Checked Pronto file section (at R/C)? Yes
9. Partially working setup code? No
10. Learning remote question? No
11. Have you tried the JP1 Lookup Tool? Yes

Hi Guys,

This is a toughie. A friend of mine is in the service and is currently in Guam. He has a Dune HD Ultra Media Player. From what I gather it's comparable to a Popcorn Hour Networked Media Tank. Unfortunately he's lost the remote. Since he's so far away I was hoping to just download an upgrade file and load up a remote for him as due to the distance troubleshooting would be a cumbersome process. Unfortunately there's no upgrade file posted. I'm hoping someone out there has one of these remotes they could read for us.

I've done a little research - according to the Dune web site there are two remote versions, an old and a new one. The old remotes work on all the players but the new remotes only work on the new players (seems odd, doesn't it?) and unfortunately it appears the HD Ultra falls in the "old" player category. Dune has posted the hex and stuff but only for the new remotes (I think). What they've posted confuses me - the web site says "All Dune Remotes use NEC protocol. Old and New Dune Remotes have different customer codes: New Dune Remote: 00 BF, Old Dune Remote: 01 BE" but they don't say which version of NEC they use and I don't understand where the "customer codes" come into play. Are they saying the Hex codes are the same just the "customer code" makes them a different protocol variation? The Dune remote control info page is at:

http://dune-hd.com/firmware/rc/

There is an upgrade posted for the new Dune remotes in the file section:

RMDU Remotemaster source file for the Dune BD Prime 3.0.
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=7835

But the hex codes listed in the Functions tab of Remote Master are not matching up with what's posted on the Dune web page.

Can anyone lend us a hand in getting a remote working for this player?

Thanks!

Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gfb107
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3388
Location: Cary, NC

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's a popcorn hour upgrade you could try.

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=6928
_________________
-- Greg
Original RemoteMaster developer
JP1 How-To's and Software Tools
The #1 Code Search FAQ and it's answer (PLEASE READ FIRST)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18356
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The data matches up perfectly, you just need to know how to read it.

The hex codes posted by Dune can be converted into decimal to give you the JP1 device codes and OBCs. However, don't try to compare the Dune hex to the JP1 hex because the NEC1 protocol is LSB-COMP, which means to convert the JP1 hex to decimal you would first need to reverse the binary, then you'd need to complement it.

The "00 BF" customer code means device code 0, sub-device 191.
The "01 BE" customer code means device code 1, sub-device 190.

Looking at the POWER button, as an example, the hex code listed is "00 BF 43 BC"

00 = device code 0
BF = sub-device code 191
43 = OBC 67
BC = the comlement of OBC 67

So, bottom line, you can use the RM upgrade "as is" if you want the new code, or you can change the device code to 1 and the sub-device to 190 if you want the old code.

Here's a 2.0 version of the RM file:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=9254

My recommendation would be to load two upgrades into the remote that you send, one in the new format and one in the old format.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18356
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gfb107 wrote:
There's a popcorn hour upgrade you could try.
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=6928

That one has a completely different device code, so it probably won't work, but it wouldn't hurt to load it into the remote also, just so your friend has all the options covered.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6953
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I thought we were supposed to read the hex backwards (lsb) to get the numbers for a NEC upgrade.

I thought this was device 0, subdevice 253.

Although everyhthing reads better msb.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18356
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To convert the DUNE hex to decimal, you do a straight conversion.

To convert JP1 hex for the NEC protocol to decimal, you need to read it backwards *AND* you need to complement it.

Let's look at device code 1.

In Dune hex, that would be 01, simple.

To get the JP1 NEC hex, first, let's create the binary: 0000001
Now, let's run it backwards: 10000000
Now complement it: 01111111
Now convert it to hex: 7F
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
slr_65



Joined: 04 Dec 2009
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very Happy I dunno what to say! I thought this was going to be some big mountain to climb and in no time that mountain has been leveled!

You guys are the greatest, thanks soooo much!

I'll be sure to post back how it works, but I'm sure it'll work just fine.

THANKS again, take care and have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18356
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're welcome.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
wified



Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 10:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

After trying the version 2.0 rmdu file in post #3 of this thread, and not being able to get it to work on my Atlas 1056, I tried the version 3.0 in post #1 in this thread, and it works. So, if you are looking for a rmdu that works with recent Dune HDI players, use the file in post #1 in this thread. This working rmdu is set for device 0, which is what you want. Here's another thread on this.

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=112097#112097
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Code Search (Closed) All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central