JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Sony RM-VLZ620 remote
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MaskedMan
Tivo Expert


Joined: 10 Feb 2004
Posts: 769
Location: Des Moines, IA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 31, 2010 3:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There isn't IR pick-up window that I can see.

The chips have of the following on them:

ATMLH002
2FB 1
9H4368B


LM393
POR


58901
64861


LHON
REA85 degrees C
A949(m)
100UF 10v

photo

photo2

photo3
_________________
Edmund
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaskedMan
Tivo Expert


Joined: 10 Feb 2004
Posts: 769
Location: Des Moines, IA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 31, 2010 3:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now remote gets put back together so play with it. Smile
_________________
Edmund
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3261

PostPosted: Sat Jul 31, 2010 11:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ATMLH002
2FB 1
9H4368B
I don't know what this is.

LM393
A voltage comparator (dual) probably used to separate on bursts from off during learning.

58901
64861
Don't know

LHON
REA85 degrees C
A949(m)
100UF 10v
This is a capacitor that will keep the voltage from drooping while sending an IR signal

The more recent pictures show normal soldering rather than the handwork I thought I saw.

I'm puzzled why they used a sub-PCB. Makes me wonder if this remotes is adapted from a different one which has the same button layout, but a microprocessor with a larger 40 pin package.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaskedMan
Tivo Expert


Joined: 10 Feb 2004
Posts: 769
Location: Des Moines, IA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2010 12:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was able to teach with no trouble, but there seem to be some bad units out there, see this thread with video:

http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin/mboard/rc-sony/thread.cgi?8697
_________________
Edmund
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
underquark
Expert


Joined: 20 Jun 2005
Posts: 872
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2010 5:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MaskedMan wrote:
I can't take a picture worth a damn...

Do you have a scanner? I use my old Umax Astra 4500 to scan pictures of remotes at low resolution and paste them into a spreadsheet where I list the codes. I reckon a higher resolution ought to yield decent images free from flash artefact since the light is bright and constant. As it is designed to scan documents, the focus is set for short macro.

Sample image (low res and shrunk to just 65K) here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cauer29



Joined: 03 Feb 2010
Posts: 235

PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2010 9:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

underquark wrote:
MaskedMan wrote:
I can't take a picture worth a damn...

Do you have a scanner? I use my old Umax Astra 4500 to scan pictures of remotes at low resolution and paste them into a spreadsheet where I list the codes. I reckon a higher resolution ought to yield decent images free from flash artefact since the light is bright and constant. As it is designed to scan documents, the focus is set for short macro.

Sample image (low res and shrunk to just 65K) here.


One small caveat with scanning instead of using a camera, is that while old scanners tend to use CCD imagers that work well in terms of "depth of field" and keeping things in focus even if they're not flat against the glass, newer scanners almost always use CMOS imagers and these apparently have a very shallow "depth of field". In my experience, with a CMOS imager, things that are even just 1mm above the glass, are very fuzzy looking in the resulting scan, while a CCD imager gives an acceptably sharp looking scan even for things that are 2-3mm above the glass.

You can't really blame the scanner mfgrs for that since they're really only intended for use with paper documents that lay flat against the glass.

A.A.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ellen



Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 100
Location: East of the Rock, West of the Hard Place

PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since I don't see any holes for a 6-pin connector in the PCB pics in this thread, am I correct that it was determined that despite being a UEI remote we won't be able to JP1 it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central