JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Sharp TV

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Electronics Repair
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6946
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 7:00 pm    Post subject: Sharp TV Reply with quote

I've got a little TV that I has a tuner problem. When I first turn it on I don't get channels 7,8,9,10, 11, but as soon as it warms up those channels come in, but then I don't get channels 2,3,4,5.

Any ideas on what this could be?

To get rid of this annoying problem, I'd really like to do a video-line in from the family room system anyway. Is there a limit on how far you can do a direct line in. I'd have to run some wire ~20 feet, but I didn't know if you could run a line that far. I've never seen an RCA cable that long.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kevin Timmerman
Expert


Joined: 09 Jan 2007
Posts: 142
Location: West Michigan

PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The easy fix for a busted tuner is to use an old VCR as a tuner.

Composite or component video and audio can use ordinary RG-59 or RG-6 coax cable. 20 or 30 feet is no problem. There are adapters to convert from F connector to RCA.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6946
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kevin Timmerman wrote:

Composite or component video and audio can use ordinary RG-59 or RG-6 coax cable. 20 or 30 feet is no problem. There are adapters to convert from F connector to RCA.


Cool, I had no idea these existed. This will actually be better than having a TV tuner in my situation. In MI I haven't been forced to the cable-box yet, we were in FL, but I am sure the day can't be long off, and when it does arrive I won't be paying for a box in the kitchen, so this is just what the dr ordered.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kevin Timmerman
Expert


Joined: 09 Jan 2007
Posts: 142
Location: West Michigan

PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

F to RCA adapter ($5 each at Radio Shack!)

25 foot A/V cable

50 foot A/V cable
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zaphod7501



Joined: 02 Aug 2004
Posts: 528
Location: Peoria Illinois

PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 10:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, that is probably a bad tuner. Tuners work in bands. 2-6, 14-22, 7-13, 14-36, and so forth.

20 - 30 feet usually works OK for composite.
Longer distances can be achieved by using S-Video.
_________________
Just call me Zaphod (or Steve) --- I never should have started using numbers in a screen name but I just can't stop now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6946
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 6:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

zaphod7501 wrote:
Yes, that is probably a bad tuner. Tuners work in bands. 2-6, 14-22, 7-13, 14-36, and so forth.

Oh I didn't know that, but it sure makes sense with what I'm seeing.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Electronics Repair All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central