JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Limesat Ultra RID file... having problems

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> ReplayTV
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
scoot13



Joined: 28 Jun 2007
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2010 2:24 am    Post subject: Limesat Ultra RID file... having problems Reply with quote

1. Device: Limesat Ultra
2. Type of device: Satellite Receiver
3. Year: 2010
4. JP1/UEI Remote model: ReplayTV
5. Do you have a JP1 cable? Yes
6. Still have original remote? Yes
7. Checked the file section? Yes nothing found
8. Checked Pronto file section (at R/C)? Yes
9. Partially working setup code? yes
10. Learning remote question? no


I had this problem before when I made a rid file for the KBox Prodigy. Now I'm having it with the Limesat Ultra. I found a Remote Master file (rmdu) that is for a slingbox but I think the codes will be the same.

Here is the previous thread:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=11810

Here is the prob:

The Limesat is supposed to be Device 2, Sub-Device 2. When I open the RID file and choose DecodeIR, the sub-device doesn't decode. I can put sub-device 2 in the box and re-save the file but it doesn't matter, when I re-open the RID file and reselect DecodeIR, no sub-device.

I know Rob worked some magic on my Kbox file and made the sub-device stick and the file work correctly. Any chance of recreating that magic on this file?

Here is the Remote Master file I was working from:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=8656

thanks much!

Scoot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18379
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2010 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Slingbox files that you posted appear to be for the Eurovox Max V 2008 and are a copy of these files:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=6903

How do you know that they'll work with the Limesat?

Anyway, as I described before, RIDGen doesn't handle NEC1 sub-devices correctly, so you have to change the binary manually.

If you get a binary string like this...
=01000000101111110000100011110111+

You need to change it like this...
=01000000010000000000100011110111+
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
scoot13



Joined: 28 Jun 2007
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2010 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I noticed that name too after I dl'ed that file. But I compared the values to what my learning remote gave when i learned them and they matched. And the learned remote works!

I had messed with the string a little and got the device to stick at 2 on one version of the rid i made using that exact string but i had not copied the string to every number, I had only done 0 and that made RidGen report it as device 2 so I stopped.

Anyway... I just changed that string in all the numbers and DecodeIR does show device 2 now. Unfortunately, it still won't change channels on the ReplayTV. I checked the blaster with a video camera so I know it is sending a code.

I am going to redo the whole process because I could have messed up when changing those binaries.

Can you think of anything else that I could try to get it to work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18379
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2010 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you create a RID file and load it up, then I'll fix it.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
scoot13



Joined: 28 Jun 2007
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 2:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok Robman thanks!

I uploaded it here:

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=8662


That is the original one that doesn't define the sub-device.

I appreciate you man!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18379
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
If you get a binary string like this...
=01000000101111110000100011110111+

You need to change it like this...
=01000000010000000000100011110111+

I loaded your file into RIDGen, then I replaced the first 16 bits (as shown in the first line above) with the 16 bits from the 2nd line above and re-saved it. I have replaced your file, so re-download it and give it a try.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
scoot13



Joined: 28 Jun 2007
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Interesting stuff... I loaded that RID onto the Replay and it would not change channels.

I decided to try a lower and unique number. I loaded your file and re-saved it as S0004fi.rid. Then loaded that on to the ReplayTV and SUCCESS! Very Happy

You've done it again Robman, thanks so much! I am still using the OFA remote that you custom programmed for the ReplayTV. It was one of the best purchases I ever made.

Scoot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scoot13



Joined: 28 Jun 2007
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 5:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It occurred to me that I didn't reboot the replay after loading the first RID file. So after after a reboot, I reloaded the original file you posted which works perfectly, no need to change the number after all. Sorry about the mis-information.

Again thanks so much!

Scoot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> ReplayTV All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central