JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

How to reset the URC-8800

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Non-JP1
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Carwarr



Joined: 30 Dec 2003
Posts: 55
Location: Las Vegas, NV

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2004 4:01 am    Post subject: How to reset the URC-8800 Reply with quote

I picked up a urc-8800 that Fry's is now selling for $15 because it looked sort of cool, and could not remember if it was fully JP1 or not. I did find out about the strange learning design of it but since I have several other learning remotes, I see no reason to add the stereo mod to this one.

Anyway, in the process of adding an upgrade, I got a memory error and it took me a while to find out how to do a factory reset on this. So now that I know how, I decided to post the steps here so anyone searching for it in the future can find it.
=======
Unlock the Service Menu
This remote has a secret "service" menu that allows you to reset the remote to it's factory settings and to lock a device to prevent accidental re-programming. Before you can access the service menu, you need to un-lock it.

Select TV mode using "device select" button.
Hold down the SETUP button until the screen reads 'TIMED SEQ'.
Tap the DOWN ARROW button one time. The screen will read 'CODE SETUP'.
Tap the SELECT button once, the screen will read 'DEV SET UP'.
Tap the SELECT button and the screen will read 'TV'.
Enter code 9-7-2. These numbers will appear on the screen.
Tap the SELECT button and the screen will return to the main display.
Note: If 972 doesn't work, you can also try 971, 961 and 962.

Restore Factory Settings
This will erase all programming, including any device codes that have been added by a mail-in upgrade.
Hold down the SETUP button until the screen reads 'TIMED SEQ'.
Tap the CHANNEL UP button once, the screen will read 'CONFIGURE'.
Tap the select button, the screen will read 'THEATR SEL'.
Tap the CHANNEL UP button once and the screen will read 'SERVICE'.
Tap SELECT, the screen will read 'MFG RESET'.
Tap SELECT, the screen will read 'SEL TO RST'.
Tap SELECT, you will get 4 flashes on the LED and the remote should be reset to factory.

If any of this seems wrong, let me know so I can edit it.

Mitch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18278
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2004 8:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That seems to be pretty close to what's in the manual, so I think it's OK:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/manuals/
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Non-JP1 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central