JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Hex Code needed for Onkyo AVR/Processor HDMI output

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Discrete Codes
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
marchewd



Joined: 23 Nov 2004
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 12:45 pm    Post subject: Hex Code needed for Onkyo AVR/Processor HDMI output Reply with quote

Hello,
I'm not sure if anyone can help me with this one, but I am looking to see if anyone has a direct button access hex code for changing the HDMI OUT on Onkyo receivers and processors? They included a button on the front of the unit, but on the remote!!! Urgh..... So, you have to go through the menu just to change the HDMI output from Main to Sub. It would be much easier to do a single button push for this.

Thanks,
Dan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18312
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have a model number for your Onkyo device? Are you a JP1 user looking to add a code to an upgrade? You say that you're looking for hex code, are you looking for any particular format of hex code?

I just looked through all the Onkyo upgrade files that I have and I didn't find a code for HDMI.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
marchewd



Joined: 23 Nov 2004
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rob,
It is for the Onkyo PR-SC886 (works on the 885 too) processor. However, it is exactly the same function on any 805, 806, 905 or 906 receiver. I think those are the only receiver models that have two HDMI outs. Yes, it is for an upgrade code. I use a JP1 RCA RCU810 remote. I just figured since it wasn't a button, it would need to be in a hex code, and then converted to JP1 code. Is that correct?

Thanks,
Dan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
marchewd



Joined: 23 Nov 2004
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rob,
I found this over at www.remotecentral.com. How would I change these code so I can plug them into the device code I made for my Onkyo 886, to see if they work?

Thanks,
Dan

HDMI Out 1
0000 006c 0022 0002 0156 00ac 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0020 05EE 0156 0056 0020 0E54

HDMI Out 2
0000 006c 0022 0002 0156 00ac 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0020 05EE 0156 0056 0020 0E54
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18312
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The way you normally convert pronto hex into codes that you can use in a JP1 upgrade is to use IRTool, however I just tried converting the code that you posted and it doesn't decode. So, I decoded it by hand and they appear to be valid NEC1 signals, unless I'm missing something.

They decode as follows:

HDMI 1 = NEC1, dev 210, sub-dev 172, OBC 212
HDMI 2 = NEC1, dev 210, sub-dev 172, OBC 213
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
marchewd



Joined: 23 Nov 2004
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rob,
That's awesome!!!! I'm at work now, but I will try the codes in my device setup file and load it back into the RCA later tonight and let you know if it worked.

Dan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4767
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 5:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
The way you normally convert pronto hex into codes that you can use in a JP1 upgrade is to use IRTool, however I just tried converting the code that you posted and it doesn't decode. So, I decoded it by hand and they appear to be valid NEC1 signals, unless I'm missing something.


There was a discussion of this recently at RC. I still don't know why DecodeIr.dll is so picky. It wasn't supposed to be.

0000 006c 0022 0002 0156 00ac 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0020 05EE 0156 0056 0020 0E54

The 0020 I marked in red is wrong, but no device receiving an NEC signal would care about that error and DecodeIr.dll shouldn't either, but does.

The next 0020 is also wrong, but even DecodeIr.dll doesn't care about that one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
marchewd



Joined: 23 Nov 2004
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 9:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rob,
Those codes worked. Do you know of anyway to combine them into on button that will cycle each output? It would be great, as beggers cannot be choosers!!!! Anyway, the buttons are working great, but what is the procedure you used to come up with the Device, Sub Device, OBC, etc. codes? That way I won't have to bother you next time?

Thanks again,
Dan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
marchewd



Joined: 23 Nov 2004
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A guy just emailed me this Pronto code:

HDMI OUT(Wrap-Around Up)
0000 006c 0022 0002 0156 00ac 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0020 05EE 0156 0056 0020 0E54

I would assume this is the code that cycles through the HDMI outputs.

Dan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18312
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 10:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now that we know why IRTool wouldn't decode the other signals, you can easily fix these signals in order to make them decode correctly.

All you need to do is change the 2nd to last "0020" word to "0015" and it will decode.

So if you paste the following hex into IRTool:
0000 006c 0022 0002 0156 00ac 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 05EE 0156 0056 0020 0E54

You'll see that it's NEC1, dev 210, sub 108, OBC 210
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
marchewd



Joined: 23 Nov 2004
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2009 12:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rob,
Thanks. I tried it using the IRTool (Pronto Hex IR Tool) that is in the file section, and it still didn't decode properly. Maybe I am doing something wrong or have the wrong version. It comes up with it being a Kenwood/Yamaha code. Can you point me to the right tool if I am using the wrong one?

Thanks again for all of your help,
Dan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
marchewd



Joined: 23 Nov 2004
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2009 12:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nevermind, I figured it out. I simply moved the tool into my IR folder and it decoded it. Sorry to bother you!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18312
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2009 7:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In case you want to know why that move made it work, even though it looks like IRTool is doing all the work, the truth is that the work is really done by one of John Fine's programs called DecodeIR.dll

So, you either need to have DecodeIR.dll in the same folder as IR and IRTool, or you need to store it in a system folder so all programs can use it.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Discrete Codes All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central