JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Western Digital WD TV HD Media Player

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Code Search (Closed)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gadgetsrfun



Joined: 28 Feb 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 4:33 pm    Post subject: Western Digital WD TV HD Media Player Reply with quote

1. Device: Western Digital WD TV HD Media Player
2. Type of device: Linux Based Media Player
3. Year: 2009
4. JP1/UEI Remote model: urc-6131n
5. Do you have a JP1 cable? Yes
6. Still have original remote? Yes
7. Checked the file section? Yes
8. Checked Pronto file section (at R/C)? Yes
9. Partially working setup code? No (see Below)
10. Learning remote question? n/a

How do I use the HEX Codes I found with RM or KM?

Function Code
Power 900A 0068 0000 0001 8479 12ED
Home 900A 006D 0000 0001 8479 06F9
Up 900A 006D 0000 0001 8479 05FA
Down 900A 006D 0000 0001 8479 00FF
Left 900A 006D 0000 0001 8479 07F8
Right 900A 006D 0000 0001 8479 09F6
Enter 900A 006D 0000 0001 8479 08F7
Back 900A 006D 0000 0001 8479 1BE4
Option 900A 0068 0000 0001 8479 1AE5
Stop 900A 0068 0000 0001 8479 04FB
Rev 900A 006D 0000 0001 8479 1FE0
FF 900A 006D 0000 0001 8479 1EE1
Play/Pause 900A 006D 0000 0001 8479 0AF5
Prev 900A 006D 0000 0001 8479 02FD
Next 900A 0068 0000 0001 8479 01FE
Search 900A 0068 0000 0001 8479 0FF0
Eject 900A 006D 0000 0001 8479 10EF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 5:05 pm    Post subject: Re: Need Help with WD TV HD Media Player Reply with quote

gadgetsrfun wrote:

Power 900A 0068 0000 0001 8479 12ED


The 900A means it is NEC1 protocol (which you can select in RM or KM)

The 84 means it is device 132.

The 79 means the subdevice is 121.

The next two digits must be translated from hex to decimal to give you the OBC number: 18 for Power, 6 for Home, etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18515
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try this upgrade...
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=6310

Upgrade Code 0 = 07 D0 (Video Acc/2000) Western Digital WD TV (KM v9.16)
5A 00 3A BE F6 1E C1 20 DE 61 7F BF B7 9F EF 27
27 5F FF 1F 6F A7 EF 7F BF 9F 0F AF AF 07 87 DF
F7
End

If you want to know how to decode that format of Pronto hex, read this...
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=42444#42444
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gadgetsrfun



Joined: 28 Feb 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 10:39 am    Post subject: Thank You! Reply with quote

Rob,

Thank you for taking the time to convert the codes and make an upgrade!

I posted the link to the upgrade file on the WDTV Wiki site here: http://wdtv.wetpaint.com/page/Remote+Control+Issues
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adrena



Joined: 13 Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Location: India

PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2010 11:35 am    Post subject: Can't get my URC-7556 to work with WD TV HD Live Reply with quote

Here is my code request:

1. Device: Western Digital WD TV HD Media Player
2. Type of device: Linux Based Media Player
3. Year: 2010
4. JP1/UEI Remote model: urc-7556
5. Do you have a JP1 cable? No
6. Still have original remote? Yes
7. Checked the file section? Yes
8. Checked Pronto file section (at R/C)? Yes
9. Partially working setup code? No
10. Learning remote question? n/a

My trouble is that when I get the urc-7556 to learn from the original remote, no matter what I do, only some functions will work. Some refuse to work. I've tried everything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
adrena



Joined: 13 Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Location: India

PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2010 11:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After extensive search of this forum, I've decided that it is best I write to you in a lil detail. If this isn't the right thing to do on this forum, I wouldn't mind if you just deleted this message

Here is my problem:
I bought a URC-7556 in India and it is working perfectly fine with 4 of my devices. The 5th device is a WDTV HD Live box and that is where my trouble starts. Whatever I do, I cannot get the remote to learn some of the functions. Some functions are learnt just fine and this is what baffles me. I am quite a techie with an engineering degree and all that but getting this to work is proving to be more of a challenge.

To add to this, the local service center has stopped taking calls for some reason. I spoke with them once when the lady offered to pick up the remote and have it upgraded to work with:
- LG LCD TV
- LG DVD Player
- A Tata Sky+ DVR box
- An Onkyo receiver / amplifier / surround system

No one has turned up and no one has bothered to call me back. In this time I've gone ahead and added a WDTV Live box and ended up with more remotes than ever.

What I need is this: is there a key-punch sequence which I can use to program the WDTV remote onto my URC-7556? as I remember clearly that on my previous call to the support team that had given me a sequence to program the 'Record' button of my Sky+ box as that was the only function that wouldn't work. After the code punch, it all came together just fine.

What should I do next? Make the cable (no choice of buying it in these parts of the world) and get busy with the coding? Please help.

Adrena
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3241

PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2010 12:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In many cases, it is possible to manually program a UEI remote to add functions, as you mentioned in another thread.

To do that, the remote has to have a setup code built in which already sends the correct IR protocol, and the correct device numbers.

Unfortunately, the URC-7556 has no setup codes that will send NEC1 device 132.121. So it isn't possible to manually program in the Western Digital functions. I'm not aware of any remote which does have the needed setup code.

I think that you'll need to make a serial JP1.2/1.3 cable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6954
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2010 12:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The WDTV Live uses a NEC1 132, 121 signal. We don't know of any standard setups that uses that combination, so until you get/make your cable, you need to rely on learns.

These signals should be easy to learn.

It is real important to capture the first part of the signal on NEC1 signals.

Make sure your learning remote is flashing BEFORE you press the button on the OEM remote.

Do your learning in a low light (dark) environment. Flourescent lights and sunlight can interfere with learning.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
adrena



Joined: 13 Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Location: India

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 9:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guess I'll have to get down to making the cable right away. And that point about learning it in low light has really helped. I discovered it from the user manual and was surprised. Once I did it low light, I could at least learn some functions.

I was shying away from making the cable only because my schedule does not permit me to run around for the components. I saw the diagram and figured it out that it isn't complicated. But then time has now come to make it. Will let you all know of the progress.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Code Search (Closed) All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central