JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

IR v3.21 vs. Kameleon 8060 (IR error message)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
renegade



Joined: 26 Sep 2003
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2003 6:43 am    Post subject: IR v3.21 vs. Kameleon 8060 (IR error message) Reply with quote

I think my problem relates to another upload problem in this forum, but just in case, here goes...

I run a laptop with win2K and use the simple i/f v5.

I managed to download an image from my remote (Kameleon URC8060)

After having built an upgrade code, I tried to upload the data to the remote. IR checks the interface, and tells me it is fine. When I choose to upload, it comes back with an error 'data read is not the same as was written'. I recheck the interface, and it is fine...

Can this be a simptom of an underpowered parallel port? Or is there another problem?

thanx

Francois
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johan



Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2003 7:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hello Francois ,

give it a try with some fresh battery, it can sometimes
help you

Johan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18402
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2003 8:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How are you connecting the JP1 cable to the Kameleon? Kameleons don't have 6-pin connectors installed, so you need to use a pgo-pin adapter. It sounds like you might be trying to just use a 6-pin connector to convert the female IDC plug into a male plug, and this generally doesn't work
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
johan



Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2003 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i took mine apart ,and did a soldering job
to have a jp1 ,and some glue to avoid
force on the pcboard

Johan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
renegade



Joined: 26 Sep 2003
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Sep 29, 2003 12:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Embarassed Hi Rob and Johan,

I am using a normal female plug with the 6 pins to convert to male. I have put a little blob of solder on each pin's end to ensure good contact. In the meantime, I tried the same on my desktop (an IBM PII 266) and it works fine, it is only the laptop that does not seem to work. I will have to program that way then. It is just inconvenient, as my desktop is nowhere near my TV room.....

thanx anyway,

Francois
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jamesgammel
Exile Island Resident


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 394
Location: Gillette, Wyoming

PostPosted: Mon Sep 29, 2003 8:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Trying to make all 6 pins of a male connector make contact at the same time is an iffy proposition whether it's just the normal 6 pins or it has solder blobs. Making contact would have to assume that the pads are all perfevtly flat, the pin ends are all in the same plane, or the solder blobs ends would have to be. Then the "pins" would have to be held perfevtly flat and held that way while your using you other hand to maipulate the pc. The pogo-pins are spring-loaded which helps when the not perfectly flat state exists.

2nd: laptops have been pretty well known to have interface probems for quite some time. That's one of the major reasons why Tommy designed the "ultra" interface. Please note that recently there was a minor flaw in one of the pages concerning a trace, so check the messages here under hardware if you're going to build one. The ultra description, parts, boards, etc. can be found at the JP-1 yahoo group files under files>interfaces. Be sure to confirm that that minor glitch has been corrected first before building.

Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18402
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Sep 29, 2003 9:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Johan, I'm guessing that you're using the URC-9960 Kameleon then, as installing pins in the other two Kameleons (ie, the URC-8060 and 15-2133) would block the batteries.

Renegade, I STRONGLY recommend that you get a pogo-pin adapter for your URC-8060, it will be well worth the small additional expense. I'm assuming that you are using the Simple interface, in which case, do you know if it's using 1k resistors and a Schotky (sp?) diode, these are both often needed for laptops.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jamesgammel
Exile Island Resident


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 394
Location: Gillette, Wyoming

PostPosted: Mon Sep 29, 2003 9:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
Johan, I'm guessing that you're using the URC-9960 Kameleon then, as installing pins in the other two Kameleons (ie, the URC-8060 and 15-2133) would block the batteries.


In his first post:

"I managed to download an image from my remote (Kameleon URC8060)"

Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18402
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Sep 29, 2003 10:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jamesgammel wrote:
The Robman wrote:
Johan, I'm guessing that you're using the URC-9960 Kameleon then, as installing pins in the other two Kameleons (ie, the URC-8060 and 15-2133) would block the batteries.


In his first post:

"I managed to download an image from my remote (Kameleon URC8060)"

Jim


Jim, I know that renegade is using a URC-8060, I was guessing that Johan was using a URC-9960 because he didn't specify which remote he has.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jamesgammel
Exile Island Resident


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 394
Location: Gillette, Wyoming

PostPosted: Mon Sep 29, 2003 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OOPS, sorry Rob, That wasn't meant for you. "WE" know that there are three different remotes called "Kameleon" and a kameleon doesn't always =kameleon=kameleon. It's as confusing at RC when posters don't specify exactly which they are talking about. That was meant for Johan, ie a 9960 isn't set up the same as a 8060, and neither are exactly like the 2133.

Four if you count the canadian 9962 which is identical to the 9960

Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
johan



Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2003 2:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Morning (Europe) Rob ,

yes indeed i'am using urc9960 (kamelon latest model)
i took it apart following tommy tyler's information .
the pins i soldered on it,came from an old pc motherboard,
after about 100 connect/disconnect no pb

Johan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central