JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Fat Fingers Can't Work "Shift" on 8910 -- Alternat

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gstrickland



Joined: 03 Jan 2004
Posts: 43
Location: Tulsa, OK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 5:44 pm    Post subject: Fat Fingers Can't Work "Shift" on 8910 -- Alternat Reply with quote

I just created my first ever RMDU file for a 6x2 Component Video Switcher. The switcher lets you separately match 6 inputs to 2 outputs. I mapped Input1-to-Output1 on the 1 key, etc... and Input1-to-Output2 to Shift-1. The problem is that the set button on my 8910 remote is so recessed that I can barely push it with my fat fingers when using it to learn a command, and I sureasheck can't use it to do Shift-1, Shift-2, etc.

What alternatives are there to the "shift" key, since I just can't work it?

_________________
Gray Strickland
Curmudgeon
Tulsa, OK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
unclemiltie
Expert


Joined: 21 Jan 2004
Posts: 1790
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you use an extender, most of the extenders (I don't know the 8910) have the ability to designate any key as the "shift" key

other than that, you can also use the LDKP protocol in the extenders to do long/double keypresses to mean different functions


IF all you are doing with the extender is to use the changeable shift key, the learning curve shouldn't be all that difficult.


-bill
_________________
this JP1 stuff is a sickness!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19462
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To answer your question directly, you could program another button to be the "shift" button by programming a macro onto it that just contains the SET button.

However, sometimes it's better to think outside the box when it comes to switchers and input select buttons in general. IMO a better approach would be for you to set aside a button as a "video select" button (one of the macro or learning buttons would be ideal), then program this button in each device mode to select the correct video source.

For example, if your DVD player is on video2, you could program the L1 button in DVD mode to select video2. Then, if your SAT box is on video3, in SAT mode you would program the L1 button to select video3, etc.

You could take the same approach with your audio receiver. You could program the L2 button (for example) to always select the correct audio source.

Yet another approach is to use macros to turn each of the devices on, and these macros would select the correct audio and video sources, in which case it doesn't much matter what buttons you use for the source select buttons.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Nils_Ekberg
Expert


Joined: 02 Aug 2003
Posts: 1689
Location: Near Albany, NY

PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 7:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Although I agree 100% with Rob's recommendations I just thought I would share an experiment from awhile back when I used a remote with a recessed set button for a lot of learning. I just roughed it up and put a dab of epoxy on it and it became a raised button. Hot glue would work also. Just be careful not to let it run it or it will be a useless button.
_________________
Nils
Files Section
Diagnosis File Section
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
classicsat



Joined: 20 Feb 2004
Posts: 279

PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a 4x2 switcher.

I have numeric buttons 1-2-3-4 select those respective inputs on bus "A"

I have numeric buttons 7-8-9-6 select those respective inputs on bus "B"

Perhaps you could come up with some similar scheme.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
underquark
Expert


Joined: 20 Jun 2005
Posts: 872
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 1:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On the 8910 I'd use the extender and make the FAV button become Shift - it's nice and handy for your thumb to press.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central