JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

OT - HD Converter Boxes
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7054
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2008 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see I typed 10 when I meant 20 over the MSP. However, I have read that the DTVPal, is not the TR-40 even though it has the same feature sets.

The TR-40 still is supposed to be 39.99. With gas eating so much of everyone's bugets, I'm wondering how many people are going to have to give up cable to make ends meet. I never could see paying for local channels, when I got them for free, and only my family room has satelite all my other rooms run off the attic antena, or their own rabbit ears.

I don't want to fill a landfill with my 9 TV's that will need converters next year, and yet the $280, or more, for boxes seems like a huge exspense to support these old TV's. Fortunately I've got a large supply of remotes to handle a box on every tv.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jetskier



Joined: 09 Dec 2003
Posts: 286
Location: Minden, Nevada

PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2008 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think you'll ever see the TR-40 or pricing for it at $39.99. I think Echostar realized they couldn't profit off of them at that price so they renamed it to the DTVpal and up'd the price to $59.99. They don't even give the resellers a break.

I'm waiting to see if the TR50 lives up to the hype when it was announced in January. If it has dual ATSC tuners, large DVR, and Dish's guide with no fees, I may get two of them and dump a couple of my Dish HD receivers. A lot of what I record is local stations. The others are History, Discovery, TLC, Spike. I could cut my sat bill in half. DVR fee, additional receiver fees, etc would be gone.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19798
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2008 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the have one of the CM or DS boxes, could you do me a favor please. There are reports in the AVS forums that these boxes respond to UEI codes that have different characteristics than the learned signals you've captured. This implies that the boxes respond to more than one codeset. The chances are that your JP1 remote already have CBL codes 0144, 0749 and 0899 installed, but just in case you don't have the codes, I have created KM upgrades for them.

So, if you have the Channel Master box, could you verify if it responds to CBL/0144 please.

If you have one of the DigitalStream boxes, could you verify if it responds to CBL/0749 and CBL/0899 please.

Channel Master CM-70 uses code 0144.
CBL/0144 = pid-0060, hex "CA"

DigitalStream DTX-9900 or DTX-9950 uses codes 0749, 0899
CBL/0749 = NEC1 12.251
CBL/0899 = NEC1 33.156
Zaphod's upgrade = NEC1 18.52

Thanks,
Rob
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19798
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2008 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jetskier wrote:
I'm waiting to see if the Echostar TR50 lives up to the hype when it was announced in January. If it has dual ATSC tuners, large DVR, and Dish's guide with no fees, I may get two of them and dump a couple of my Dish HD receivers.

I hadn't heard of the TR50 before, so thanks for the heads up. Here's some more info for anyone else who's interested.

http://ces.cnet.com/8301-1_1-9840910-67.html
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=972197
http://www.cnettv.com/9742-1_53-31894.html


_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jetskier



Joined: 09 Dec 2003
Posts: 286
Location: Minden, Nevada

PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2008 5:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
jetskier wrote:
I'm waiting to see if the Echostar TR50 lives up to the hype when it was announced in January. If it has dual ATSC tuners, large DVR, and Dish's guide with no fees, I may get two of them and dump a couple of my Dish HD receivers.

I hadn't heard of the TR50 before, so thanks for the heads up. Here's some more info for anyone else who's interested.

http://ces.cnet.com/8301-1_1-9840910-67.html
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=972197
http://www.cnettv.com/9742-1_53-31894.html


I've read reviews, but noone seems to know the ballpark pricing yet. The 250GB HDD will probably be upsized or upgradable soon after the release. It has the external USB drive support, but a 1TB drive would be great. My 622s have 250gb drives and I can record about 30hrs of Mpeg2 HD. The Dish Mpeg 4 is almost double. Hopefully the September release is still a reality (probably not knowing them).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zaphod7501



Joined: 02 Aug 2004
Posts: 530
Location: Peoria Illinois

PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2008 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:

If you have one of the DigitalStream boxes, could you verify if it responds to CBL/0749 and CBL/0899 please.
Thanks,
Rob

I've got the DTX9900 (obviously Smile ) and mine does not respond to either code. I think I ran through a code search on it also when I got it, just in case.
Others should try however since this type of device will have running production changes and different firmware as time goes on. The 9950 may be significantly different.

edit: I was using a virgin URC6131 to test with.
_________________
Just call me Zaphod (or Steve) --- I never should have started using numbers in a screen name but I just can't stop now.


Last edited by zaphod7501 on Fri Jul 04, 2008 12:10 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mr_d_p_gumby
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 1370
Location: Newbury Park, CA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2008 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
So, if you have the Channel Master box, could you verify if it responds to CBL/0144 please.
Yes. I used the CBL/0144 out of the old Replay remote (V1) to test this, and it works. (I assume it to be the same as what is in the Replay itself.) The signals look to be NEC1, with a carrier around 42 kHz. I've captured the codes from the OEM remote, and they are also NEC1, but at 38 kHz. I haven't had a chance to compare OBCs yet.
_________________
Mike England
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19798
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2008 12:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The CBL/0144 is for old Pioneer cable boxes, so I assume the $0060 executor produced some sort of Pioneer/NEC like signal, though I've never looked at it before myself.

Have you tried controlling the box using a ReplayTV unit? Where you able to get the channel guide to work? If you have the CM EOM remote, could you create a complete upgrade, so we can see the codes for the rest of the buttons?

I'm disappointed that Steve wasn't able to use those other two codes to work the DS box, so I'll have to double check the posts over at AVS where they claim that those codes work. The RCA box also has a code in the ReplayTV units, but it appears that the RCA boxes are buggy.

I guess I have to sort something out before next year. The E* boxes sound cool, but they'll probably be expensive.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mr_d_p_gumby
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 1370
Location: Newbury Park, CA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2008 2:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's an upgrade based on the OEM remote for the Channel Master CM7000.

This box also responds to CBL/0533, using the Pioneer 00E2 protocol (40 kHz). It appears to have the same subset of functions available for both CBL/0144 and CBL/0533. Here is what I've been able to determine so far:
Code:
OBC - function
000 - num 0
001 - num 1
002 - num 2
003 - num 3
004 - num 4
005 - num 5
006 - num 6
007 - num 7
008 - num 8
009 - num 9
010 - vol up
011 - vol down
015 - mute
016 - channel up
017 - channel down
020 - mute
028 - power
032 - num 0
033 - num 1
034 - num 2
035 - num 3
036 - num 4
037 - num 5
038 - num 6
039 - num 7
040 - num 8
041 - num 9
073 - power
It is unfortunate that it does not appear to respond to the Enter function for CBL/0144 (OBC 012). I'm still looking for another code for Enter, but no luck thus far.

There does not appear to be a dot or dash key (or function), so channel entry is just done with digits. For example, 4, 04 and 041 all change to channel 04-1. Channel changes are pretty quick if you use the Enter key, but otherwise you need to wait a couple of seconds for it to timeout.

I have not tried it on the Replay yet, but it looks like it should work. Hopefully the info over at the AVS forum about using a satellite guide with local channels will prove to be workable. I don't think the IR carrier frequency will be an issue using the IR blaster at close range.

The lack of an Enter key (for CBL/0144 & CBL/0533) will mean that channel changes will be slow. It would probably be a good idea to load the OEM upgrade into the Replay if you can so that an Enter funtion is present.
_________________
Mike England
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19798
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2008 9:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mr_d_p_gumby wrote:
It would probably be a good idea to load the OEM upgrade into the Replay if you can so that an Enter funtion is present.
That's not so easy with the older R3k units, hence the search for a built in code. If I end up having to go the route of loading an upgrade into the Replay, I can pretty much chose which ever box works best.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
zaphod7501



Joined: 02 Aug 2004
Posts: 530
Location: Peoria Illinois

PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2008 10:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:

I'm disappointed that Steve wasn't able to use those other two codes to work the DS box, so I'll have to double check the posts over at AVS where they claim that those codes work. The RCA box also has a code in the ReplayTV units, but it appears that the RCA boxes are buggy.

I guess I have to sort something out before next year. The E* boxes sound cool, but they'll probably be expensive.

I wonder if they were using a standard UEI remote or a cableco supplied remote, which often contain custom codes? Most of the multiple code type comments that I heard were about the DTVPal/TR-40 unit and Dish receivers that were responding to the DTVPal remote regardless of which "unit" they (the Dish receivers) were set to.

I have the Zenith DTT901 and the DS DTX9900. I prefer the Zenith because it can remember the aspect (zoom) setting for individual channels; does the aspect correctly for SD digital broadcasts (the DS does a slight vertical stretch); has at least a discrete "off". (which I suspect is actually an "analog passthrough" command); and has a 16:9 TV setting. (when set for a widescreen TV, the zoom command controls the SD broadcasts and not the HD ones; just the opposite of the method when a 4:3 TV type is selected)

Personally, I think most people will be very satisfied with a converter connected to their "HD Ready" TVs, rather than a true HD receiver. (at $200) Most people sit way too far away from their TVs to ever see the difference between SD digital and HD digital. Most of the content is SD or upscaled SD anyway. Most of the converters have better tuners than the HD boxes on the market right now. (by 2 or 3 generations, it seems)

While the DTVPal appeals to me because of the event timer, it seems to have some bugs in implementation. (some will change channels if on but not turn on by itself) The DTVPal uses a global zoom setting and none of the boxes seem to be able to auto adjust the zoom. I have not figured out if it can control the timer "to the minute" or if it only selects to a nearest interval. (I need the ability to start 2-3 minutes early and end 5-7 minutes late due to programs timed to defeat TIVO and EPG controlled recorders) The Zenit DTT901 has a "set by program" zoom setting but I don't know how it is implemented. It may require a signal of some sort from the (clueless) TV station.

My capture cards (3 of them) have line-1, line-2, and analog RF inputs. I can set a box on each line input, cable on RF (for now) and leave each box set to a different desired channel, and use the recorder's timer to record from the right source. I figure I can get by with 6 boxes in the house. 2 from my coupon, 2 from my son's, 2 from my sister-in-law's; since they don't need them. (at least they think so)

The Dish TR-50 is now the Holy Grail, a true dual ATSC tuner HD receiver, HDD recorder (in HD) with no subscription fees for $80. Some people think it will be closer to $400 (or much higher) but others insist it will be under $100.
_________________
Just call me Zaphod (or Steve) --- I never should have started using numbers in a screen name but I just can't stop now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mr_d_p_gumby
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 1370
Location: Newbury Park, CA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2008 11:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
mr_d_p_gumby wrote:
It would probably be a good idea to load the OEM upgrade into the Replay if you can so that an Enter funtion is present.
That's not so easy with the older R3k units, hence the search for a built in code. If I end up having to go the route of loading an upgrade into the Replay, I can pretty much chose which ever box works best.
I know the problem with the older R3ks as I also have one. From what I can tell so far, it looks like the CM box will work just fine. Since I don't tend to watch "live" TV on the older Replay, the slow channel change won't bother me, and it won't affect its ability to record. Of course, it will be limited to just the primary -1 channels (without special guide info), but other boxes will have the same problem.
_________________
Mike England
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaskedMan
Tivo Expert


Joined: 10 Feb 2004
Posts: 798
Location: Des Moines, IA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2008 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since you're discussing DVR and the convertor boxes, Tivo has said they're not coming out with code for the DigitalStream boxes because of the problems they have had trying to control them with the tivos during testing.


http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/showthread.php?p=6435442#post6435442
_________________
Edmund
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19798
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's an update about the Comcast situation. According to the Executive Support Specialist that I just spoke to, I should be able to continue using my current setup past the Feb 2009 DTV switchover.

I don't use a cable box, the cable feed goes directly into my "cable ready" TV and my ReplayTV boxes. Concast will continue to send the broadcast channels down the line in the analog-like format that they currently use.

I do have the option of getting a digital box for a small monthly rental charge which would also give me some of the additional free channels that you can get with a coupon box.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jetskier



Joined: 09 Dec 2003
Posts: 286
Location: Minden, Nevada

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Feb 2009 digital changover is for OTA signals only. It had nothing to do with cable signals even if they are in analog form. I know there is a lot of confusion out there. I know there has been a push to get cable subscribers into a digital cable box rather than the feed directly into the TV.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Page 5 of 8

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central