JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

JP1 Cable and Kameleon 9960 (IR.exe doesn't see connection)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ninjatech



Joined: 23 Dec 2003
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2003 5:23 pm    Post subject: JP1 Cable and Kameleon 9960 (IR.exe doesn't see connection) Reply with quote

Hey,

I have been using a JP1 cable with my 15-2104 for quite some time. I confirmed that the cable is working with this remote on the computer I am currently using for programming.

I picked up the Kameleon 9960 and setup my codes for it in IR.exe. My problem is that I cannot get IR.exe to connect to the remote. I have inserted the pins into the JP1 cable and I hold the pins against the JP1 pads under the battery cover. I have tried it facing both directions, but no matter what it says "No response from remote"

Is there anything special I may be missing? Like the remote having to be asleep or in a certain mode?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks
_________________
- Ninja
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
usblipitor



Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 516
Location: Greenbelt, MD

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2003 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

IMHO I think it is not making good contact. Are you using "Pogo Pins" ? Also, I know very little about Kameleons, but isn't it awkward to hold ? Don't you need a battery clamp ?

I know that filebug and hovisdirect sell kameleon kits that include all that you need, or you can buy the parts separately.

What sort of pins are you using to touch the JP1 site in your kameleon? I think just a 6 pin header is not good enough. The pogo pins (I think) may be flared at the end and this is why they get better contact.

The best solution I would think would be to solder a 6 pin header into the kameleon.

OK, give me a moment to prepare.. ok, experts, what advice did I screw up? Smile Please feel free to tear me a new one..

Happy Chanukah, Kwanza, and Christmas,
_________________
-Steve
Beginner's Guide
CodeSearchFAQ
JP1Files
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jamesgammel
Exile Island Resident


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 394
Location: Gillette, Wyoming

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2003 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

actually steve you did pretty good. Wink Pogo pins make better cintact because the pins are spring-loaded. A little pressure insures that all 6 pins are contacting. You could, as he said, solder the 6 pins to the pads, but it'd help to use a good bit of hot-glue to make it more solid so the pads don't tear loose easily.
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
ninjatech



Joined: 23 Dec 2003
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2003 10:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

awesome, thanks.

I don't have the pogo pin adapter... think I can get it separately at Radio Shack?

Not to comfy with soldering anything that's worth more than a few bucks..haha

Thanks again.
_________________
- Ninja
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gjarboni
Expert


Joined: 20 Sep 2003
Posts: 294
Location: Columbia, MD

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2003 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ninjatech wrote:
awesome, thanks.

I don't have the pogo pin adapter... think I can get it separately at Radio Shack?

Not to comfy with soldering anything that's worth more than a few bucks..haha

Thanks again.


Nope. Radio Shack definitely doesn't carry the pogo adapter. But some (if not all) of the people who sell premade cables do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
ninjatech



Joined: 23 Dec 2003
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2003 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Easy enough, found one for 10 bucks shipped.

If I had known before, I would have just ordered a bundle.

By the way, from lurking it seems this remote gets knocked a lot, but even without JP1 functionality it's pretty sweet. The battery life seems to be the most valid complaint, but people already started disabling the vibration sensor.

GOnna go pick up one as a gift right now...

Thanks everyone for beaing so helpful =)
_________________
- Ninja
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sabesh



Joined: 03 Jan 2004
Posts: 1
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Jan 03, 2004 11:36 am    Post subject: Kameleon and Vibration sensor Reply with quote

ninjatech,

How do you disable the vibration sensor on the Kameleon? Also, how do you activate the Kameleon once the vibration sensor is disabled?

Thanks,

Sabesh.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ninjatech



Joined: 23 Dec 2003
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2004 3:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The piece arrived, and works perfectly. Thanks!!

http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin/mboard/rc-one4all/thread.cgi?2705 is where I saw the tutorial on disabling the backlight sensor, I think you press any key to turn on the backlight.

Mine is not THAT sensitive that it is a problem, after having it 2 weeks now, I have only seen it go off a couple times when it wasn't being used. I think that may change once I get my subwoofer.
_________________
- Ninja
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Hardware All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central