JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

8811 Extender
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Extenders
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7073
Location: Florida

                    
PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 10:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Elizabeth wrote
Quote:
I concur. Except just in the 7800 it's a bit rough to build, so for a quick and dirty setup, the simplest thing is to use device buttons for selection of key groups, and shift-device buttons for synchronizing inputs and general viewing/listening mode setup. The reason is that 7800 does not have builtins such as Long key press, so it has to be made on the keymoves sheet. Also no nested macros.


If I have a macro in my unextended Cinema 7 that says

TV; TV/VCR; DOWN_ARROW; DOWN_ARROW; ENTER; DVD/LD;CBL/SAT

This macro changes my TV input to DVD or SAT depending on its current state and makes sure that the T keys are pointed at the DVD and leaves the user in Satelite mode since that is where the user normally wants the remote to be.


Would this be a nested macro, since the TV , DVD/LDand CBL/SAT buttons are now macros?

Would you need to replace the TV; with M_TV
the DVD/LD; with T_DVD
the Cbl/SAT; M_TV
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7073
Location: Florida

                    
PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 11:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you John,

I can see the extender will save me lots of key moves. I like that the extender groups the T, P, V keys too, because I have related items on my shifted keys. I just expected the extender would work the way the remote normally did witch I had to do lots of key moves to get around.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Capn Trips
Expert


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 3990

                    
PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

We're trying hard to walk you through everything, but many of these questions are truly addressed in the extender readme. In this case you are talking about Temporary Device Selection (i.e. you want to select a device mode ONLY to execute a command within a macro). The readme says:

Quote:
Temporary Device Selection:
---------------------------

Within a macro, you often want to issue a key to a specific device
regardless of the previous device selection and without disturbing that
previous device selection. You use X_ commands to do that. For example,
the sequence
X_TV; 0; 3
in a macro would send the 0 and 3 keys to the TV regardless of the previous
device selection.

The X_ selection is automatically canceled when the outermost macro (see
nested macros) completes. If the above example were intended for use as a
top level macro, there would be no need for it to explicitly cancel its X_
command. If the above example were in a general purpose macro that might
be called by other macros, you probably should change it to:
X_TV; 0; 3; X_Cancel

While an X_ command is active, it applies to all keys. The usual division
into Pip, Menu, Channel, Volume, Transport and Other doesn't apply.
So you would make this macro as follows:

X_TV; TV/VCR; DOWN_ARROW; DOWN_ARROW; ENTER; T_DVD/LD;V_CBL/SAT;O_CBL/SAT; C_CBL/SAT;P_CBL/SAT;M_CBL/SAT

OR if you have pre-defined the CBL/SAT button with a button assignment macro of:
P/M/C/V/T/O_CBL/SAT

Then you can just call that macro and do the following:
CBL/SAT;X_TV; TV/VCR; DOWN_ARROW; DOWN_ARROW; ENTER; T_DVD/LD

In this case, the FIRST STEP calls the CBL/SAT macro and assigns all of the buttons to the CBL/SAT device. The next sequence executes the TV sequence you want (WITHOUT reassigning any keysets). The last step assigns the T keys to the DVD device.
_________________
Beginners - Read this thread first
READ BEFORE POSTING or your post will be DELETED!


Remotes: OFA XSight Touch, AR XSight Touch
TVs: LG 65" Smart LED TV; Samsung QN850BF Series - 8K UHD Neo QLED LCD TV
RCVR: Onkyo TX-SR875; Integra DTR 40.3
DVD/VCR: Pioneer DV-400VK (multi-region DVD), Sony BDP-S350 (Blu-ray), Toshiba HD-A3 (HD-DVD), Panasonic AG-W1 (Multi-system VCR);
Laserdisc: Pioneer CLD-D704.
Amazon Firestick
tape deck: Pioneer CT 1380WR (double cassette deck)
(But I still have to get up for my beer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7073
Location: Florida

                    
PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I can see that when I get home I'm going to have to download the files from the file section here instead of the files I down loaded at the yahoo site because that information was not in the readme's over there.

Thanks for all of your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ElizabethD
Advanced Member


Joined: 09 Feb 2004
Posts: 2348

                    
PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

7800ext2 doesn't have temporary device selection nor x_cancel/dev_cancel. Speed and simplicity are key, but I sure wish johnsfine extended this extender Smile

vickyg2003 wrote:
TV; TV/VCR; DOWN_ARROW; DOWN_ARROW; ENTER; DVD/LD;CBL/SAT
... Would this be a nested macro, since the TV , DVD/LDand CBL/SAT buttons are now macros?

I don't understand the tail end of the above unextended macro, but, I think the translation might be:
V_???;P_CBL; M_TV;TV/VCR;down;down;enter; M_CBL;T_DVD/LD

To punch through volume buttons, code V_RCV or V_TV where I put V_???.

Keep, but modify, the default macro on CBL/SAT to do just the key groups to fully control the CBL/SAT device, and then code this macro on shift-CBL/SAT for setup.

From readme file for extender:
Code:
V keys:  VOL+, VOL-, MUTE
T keys:  REW, PLAY, FF, PAUSE, STOP, REC
P keys:  PIP-ON/OFF, PIP-SWAP, PIP-MOVE
M keys:  All keys except the SETUP, V, T and P keys.
and shifted keys fall into the same categories.

As far as nesting goes, no you can't nest. But a sequence of macros can be used
Macro1 = key, key, Macro2
Macro2 = key, key, key, Macro3
and so on. Not as easy as in other remotes, doesn't always fit, but is workable.
_________________
Liz
Tweeking 8910, HTPro/9811, C7-7800, 6131o, 6131n, AtlasOCAP-1056B01, RCA-RCRP05B and enjoying the ride Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Capn Trips
Expert


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 3990

                    
PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, now I'm getting confused.

Are we working Vicky through the 8811 or the 7800 extender? The first post seems to indicate she's trying to set up her 8811, so that's all that I am talking about. Can we keep the 7800 confusion out of this? Pretty please?
_________________
Beginners - Read this thread first
READ BEFORE POSTING or your post will be DELETED!


Remotes: OFA XSight Touch, AR XSight Touch
TVs: LG 65" Smart LED TV; Samsung QN850BF Series - 8K UHD Neo QLED LCD TV
RCVR: Onkyo TX-SR875; Integra DTR 40.3
DVD/VCR: Pioneer DV-400VK (multi-region DVD), Sony BDP-S350 (Blu-ray), Toshiba HD-A3 (HD-DVD), Panasonic AG-W1 (Multi-system VCR);
Laserdisc: Pioneer CLD-D704.
Amazon Firestick
tape deck: Pioneer CT 1380WR (double cassette deck)
(But I still have to get up for my beer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ElizabethD
Advanced Member


Joined: 09 Feb 2004
Posts: 2348

                    
PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm unclear from post1 which remote we're talking about.
But on page 1 I thought she wanted both, and the first post on this page seems to be asking for translation.
Ok, all yours.
_________________
Liz
Tweeking 8910, HTPro/9811, C7-7800, 6131o, 6131n, AtlasOCAP-1056B01, RCA-RCRP05B and enjoying the ride Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7073
Location: Florida

                    
PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2006 7:59 pm    Post subject: 8811 Shift Keys Reply with quote

Okay I'm back to my 8811, I've got all my key moves and macros in, and I have one problem. Everything I've assigned to a shifted key doesn't work.

I see in IR that there is a shift and an ALT Shift assigned to 2. Is that where my problem comes from?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7073
Location: Florida

                    
PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2006 7:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Never mind, the Shift keys were not working because of my programming error, although I do have one timing issue. I need to insert a pause.

I know you told me to get the pause protocol from KM, but I can't seem to find it there, so I went to the files section which once again sent me back to the YAHOO site, where I found a pause txt file for KM. So is it okay to get the file there?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mark Pierson
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3017
Location: Connecticut, USA

                    
PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2006 7:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

vickyg2003 wrote:
get the pause protocol from KM, but I can't seem to find it there
Open KM, select the URC-881x/801x/601x remote, and then in the Protocol Name drop-down select Pause Protocol (Special). On the Functions sheet be sure to click the OBC button. Check the Protocol Help sheet for details.
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7073
Location: Florida

                    
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2006 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Doh! I had the wrong version of keymaster and IR!!!! Okay I've learned my lesson well. Stay away from Yahoo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
greenough1



Joined: 30 Jan 2005
Posts: 659

                    
PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2007 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Vickyg,
Did you end up using toadtog to control the mute state of your receiver? I'd like to do that to but could use an e.g. to guide me.

thanks,
jeff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7073
Location: Florida

                    
PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2007 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh how embarrassing! Embarassed I can't believe I was that scattered! I think Capn_Trips and Elizabeth must have wanted to shoot me!! Very Happy

Yes I did use the ToadTog for my mute, but after discovering LKPs I ended up doing most things with the short/long key press. A short mute press, mutes, a long mute unmutes. ToadTogs are hard for me because I have multiple remotes for each TV. I use ToadTogs to keep track of the state the remote is in, instead of the state my equipment is in.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
greenough1



Joined: 30 Jan 2005
Posts: 659

                    
PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2007 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the reply Vicky.

I setup a first cut of toadtog to keep track of the mute status of my RCVR.
Here's what I'm trying to do:
For these devices I want the RCVR muted: TV, SAT
For these devices I wan the RCVR un-muted: CD, DVD, CBL

I setup a Force On, Force Off Toadtog; Force On mutes RCVR, Force Off un-mutes RCVR

When switching to devices requiring RCVR muted, I execute Force On.
When switching to devices requiring RCVR un-muted, I execute Force Off.

I've not played with it for an evening yet, but preliminary testing shows it stays in sync unlike my other method.

In the old setup, I exectued an X_RCVR;mute in every LKP that switched between devices. going between TV and CBL would be fine as would CBL to TV. I would always be out of sync though when going from DVD to CBL, and would have to LKP it twice to get mute sync'd.

Does this sound like a sensible way to use toadtog?
Here's my current file:
http://hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=4746
See the RCVR shift/xshift+mute toadtog's for the definitions and the usage is in the LKP's.

Best,
jeff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Capn Trips
Expert


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 3990

                    
PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2007 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

greenough1 wrote:
Does this sound like a sensible way to use toadtog?
Yes. I do basically the same thing to select between Digital and Analog Audio inputs on my receiver (a toggle function natively)
_________________
Beginners - Read this thread first
READ BEFORE POSTING or your post will be DELETED!


Remotes: OFA XSight Touch, AR XSight Touch
TVs: LG 65" Smart LED TV; Samsung QN850BF Series - 8K UHD Neo QLED LCD TV
RCVR: Onkyo TX-SR875; Integra DTR 40.3
DVD/VCR: Pioneer DV-400VK (multi-region DVD), Sony BDP-S350 (Blu-ray), Toshiba HD-A3 (HD-DVD), Panasonic AG-W1 (Multi-system VCR);
Laserdisc: Pioneer CLD-D704.
Amazon Firestick
tape deck: Pioneer CT 1380WR (double cassette deck)
(But I still have to get up for my beer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Extenders All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Top 7 Advantages of Playing Online Slots The Evolution of Remote Control