JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

iconremote
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Marineau



Joined: 14 Nov 2004
Posts: 33
Location: Québec Canada

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 9:06 am    Post subject: iconremote Reply with quote

Does anyone have info about this new Remote ?
Does anyone know if this remote is JP1 or JP1.2 compatible ?
Does anyone know : made by ???
Does nayone have another link about this remote ?


http://kbase.x10.com/wiki/Iconremote
http://www.x10.com/pdfs/kbase_iconr_setup.pdf
http://www.x10.com/pdfs/kbase_iconr_manual.pdf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jherrick
JP1 Vendor


Joined: 31 Dec 2003
Posts: 222
Location: South Berwick, ME

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 5:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=815809

In case you don't want to go to that site, it says this "I found that it is a rebadged Philips SRU8010."

http://www.x10community.com/michaelm/2007/03/introducing_the_x10_iconremote.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Pierson
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3011
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And apparently they're all sold out.
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Marineau



Joined: 14 Nov 2004
Posts: 33
Location: Québec Canada

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mark Pierson wrote:
And apparently they're all sold out.
Yesterday 100 was available for sale !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sixt7gt350



Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And I won't have one to fiddle with anytime soon.

Here's what I received when I asked for my tracking number:

A credit was issued for sales order ####### due to backordered item IR10A. We do apologize for any inconvenience.
Thanks!

Roberta Garliyo
Order Processing Manager
X10 Wireless Technology, Inc
P - 425 203 3935
F - 425 203 3950
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18084
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's not the first time X10 has pulled that crap either, they did it with the HT-Pro remotes also.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sixt7gt350



Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2007 6:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, to offer a cool product and not fulfill orders is a really good way to pad the e-mail address database. (even though I was already in it)
X10 has a pretty bad name for spamming and horribly annoying ads.

I have a VERY large box full of X10 stuff, including way too many remotes of various X10-specific and universal styles.
(one particularly cool universal remote also functions as a wireless mouse for the PC)
My wife made me uninstall all the items.
I could control the whole house from my computer or universal remote at one point.
I even had their dialing alarm system, with sensors on all the doors and windows.

I've never had a bad experience with them until now.
To let me think for so long that my order had shipped, only to tell me later that it really didn't, is a bit crappy.
Sigh.

Kenwood and JP1 5XXX Replay remotes will still rule the house for a while, it seems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sixt7gt350



Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 11:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Someone with one has posted pics of a USB port on the side.

No JP1 maybe, but a USB port for??????

EDIT: Per Rob's suggestion, the missing "E" has found its home and the extra "with" has been sent packing.


Last edited by sixt7gt350 on Mon Apr 02, 2007 7:38 am; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18084
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 12:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sixt7gt350 wrote:
Someone with with on has posted pics of a USB port on the side. No JP1 mabybe, but a USB port for??????

Did you proof-read this at all before posting it??? Wink
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sven Gaudy



Joined: 30 Mar 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Mar 30, 2007 11:59 am    Post subject: I have an iconRemote Reply with quote

The iconRemotes are back on sale now. I got one a couple of days ago and it is awesome! The favorite channel feature is pretty cool. I can answer any questions about it. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Marineau



Joined: 14 Nov 2004
Posts: 33
Location: Québec Canada

PostPosted: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:32 pm    Post subject: Re: I have an iconRemote Reply with quote

Sven Gaudy wrote:
The iconRemotes are back on sale now. I got one a couple of days ago and it is awesome! The favorite channel feature is pretty cool. I can answer any questions about it. Wink


Hi,

I leave in Canada !
Does a TVA, RadioCanada and TQS Icon exist in iconremote ?
Does I can draw my icone myself and upload in remote ?
Does IconRemote is compatible with JP1 ?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18084
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Mar 30, 2007 11:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Icon is definitely not JP1 compatible. As for what Sven might have to say about it, I'm not sure that he's 100% reliable...

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=827243

On the other hand, it appears that one of the software developers for the Icon has appeared over at AVS, so if you have questions....

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?p=10150719&&#post10150719
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
chaunguyen



Joined: 09 Apr 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 12:12 pm    Post subject: IconRemote Reply with quote

Please be careful when buying this remote from X10. I ordered one from them and they sent me a defective remote that don't work at all. It looked like the remote that they sent was an opened box one. X10 issued a RMA but expected me to pay for the shipping. This is a brand new unit that didn't work at all and I have to pay for the shipping so that I can get a replacement. I didn't agree with this so I called customer support and the lady who was very rude to me said that she will request for a shipping
label and send it to me but it never happened. I called again and was told the same thing. At this point, all I want to do was to return the remote.
About the remote, it looked very cheap and nothing like the picture. It was packaged in a way that made me think that this is something that cost
around 10-15 bucks not $129.99. It was a huge disappointment. For $17.49 more, I'm going back to buy the Logitech Harmony 880 for the peace of mind.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18084
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 1:23 pm    Post subject: Re: IconRemote Reply with quote

chaunguyen wrote:
It was packaged in a way that made me think that this is something that cost around 10-15 bucks not $129.99. It was a huge disappointment. For $17.49 more, I'm going back to buy the Logitech Harmony 880 for the peace of mind.

Of course, you could always buy a JP1 compatible remote and cable for around $40 which can do pretty much everything that the Harmony can do, and then some.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
GLT



Joined: 25 Feb 2005
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rob,

Very entertaining links.

From your AVS post:

"It appears that X10 has launched a bunch of marketers out into forum land...."

I noted on the X10 forum that 3 Moderators all posted about their "new" icon remotes the same day. A fourth posted about it, but it was unclear if he had one.

These people LOUDLY claim to recieve no compensation, and none posted whether they received their icon free or not. (Even when asked.)

I'm not very popular over there anymore. Rolling Eyes

In any case, I see no way this remote is worth $130 (maybe if they ever enable the usb port - but still probably not).

Happy enjoying my $8.99 15-2116's here.

GLT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central