JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Insignia NS-27HTV (Konka protocol)
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Protocol Decodes
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jcorey



Joined: 21 Apr 2006
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2006 6:57 pm    Post subject: Insignia NS-27HTV (Konka protocol) Reply with quote

I have a new hdtv with an unknown protocol.

1. Device: Insignia NS-27HTV
2. Type of device: TV
3. Year: 2006
4. UEI Remote model: URC 6800
5. Do you have a JP1 cable? Yes
6. Still have original remote? Yes
7. Checked the file section? Yes
8. Checked Pronto file section (at R/C)? Yes
9. Partially working setup code? No
10. Learning remote question? Yes -- here

I have the bulk of the keys learned into here on the CD device key. If a protocol can be figured out, that'd be wonderful. If you need more keys, I can bring in more of the miscellaneous function keys. This remote has 52 keys in all.

Thanks a lot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19517
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2006 10:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please do learn the rest of them and post the file. When I decode new protocols by hand, it's twice the work if I have to decode a second set of learned signals later.

From a very quick glance, these look like good learns so coming up with a new executor shouldn't be too hard.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jcorey



Joined: 21 Apr 2006
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2006 6:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've put up a second file with the rest of the keys here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19517
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2006 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've decoded the signals...

freq: 38.5k
1 = +500 -2500
0 = +500 -1500
leadin: +3000 -3000
leadout: +500 -4000 +500 -22900

00000010 00000000 - 0
00000010 00000001 - 1
00000010 00000010 - 2
00000010 00000011 - 3
00000010 00000100 - 4
00000010 00000101 - 5
00000010 00000110 - 6
00000010 00000111 - 7
00000010 00001000 - 8
00000010 00001001 - 9
00000010 00001010 - . (Period)
00000010 00001011 - Power
00000010 00001101 - Sleep
00000010 00001110 - PrevCh
00000010 00001111 - Sound
00000010 00010000 - CH-
00000010 00010001 - CH+
00000010 00010010 - VOL-
00000010 00010011 - VOL+
00000010 00010100 - Mute
00000010 00010101 - Menu
00000010 00010111 - Info
00000010 00011000 - CCD
00000010 00011001 - Picture
00000010 00011100 - Input
00000010 00011101 - Ratio
00000010 00011110 - Stereo
00000010 00101011 - Up
00000010 00101100 - Down
00000010 00101101 - Left
00000010 00101110 - Right
00000010 00101111 - OK
00000010 00110000 - Exit
00000110 00001100 - Fav
00000110 00010110 - List All
00000110 00011010 - Page Up
00000110 00011011 - Page Down
00000110 00011111 - List Audio
00000110 00100000 - Rotate
00000110 00100001 - 2nd Up
00000110 00100010 - EPG
00000110 00100011 - Freeze
00000110 00100100 - 2nd Left
00000110 00100101 - 2nd OK
00000110 00100110 - 2nd Right
00000110 00100111 - Zoom
00000110 00101000 - 2nd Info
00000110 00101001 - 2nd Down
00000110 00101010 - PBC

The odd thing is that there are 2 device codes in the mix, but all the OBCs are unique. That might tend to imply that you can tell which device code to use just by looking at the OBC binary, but if that's the case, I can't see it.

I will try and generate an executor for this over the weekend.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19517
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2006 2:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've created an upgrade that is formatted for your URC-6800. This is an experimental upgrade because it will create a leadout signal of "+500 +3000 +500 +23000" which doesn't exactly match the "+500 +4000 +500 +23000" leadout that is present in your learns, so I'm hoping that the TV is not that fussy.

If this doesn't work, I'll have to format the signal manually in the executor to het the +4000 gap, and that'll take more time (this one took me 1.5 hours already).

Upgrade Code 0 = 1F D0 (TV/2000) Insignia NS-27HTV (KM v8.43)
FF 00 FE DC 3F 02 00 02 01 02 02 02 03 02 04 02
05 02 06 02 07 02 08 02 09 02 13 02 12 02 14 02
11 02 10 02 0B 02 0A 02 0E 02 0D 02 1C 02 15 02
2F 02 17 02 30 06 22 02 2B 02 2C 02 2D 02 2E
End

Upgrade Protocol 0 = 01 FF (S3C8) Custom Protocol for TV/2000 Insignia NS-27HTV (KM v8.43)
43 89 02 8B 16 8C 45 08 08 00 FA 04 CE 00 FA 02
DA 2C EC 05 DC 05 C8 00 00 00 11 8D 01 4E
End
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jcorey



Joined: 21 Apr 2006
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2006 9:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very nice work Robman. The TV is taking the keys just fine. Is there a way to take those codes into KM? I use a 9910 mostly now. The 6800 is secondary and is the one I learn keys on. Also, I wanted to see how some of the obcs went, to hopefully find some hidden functions, like specifying inputs directly. Currently, it brings up this menu and then I have to go up and down among like 8 options, select it, then exit out. If not a hidden function, it's begging to be macroed.

In looking at the remote more, I found out some of the keys are meant for DVD functions, like the second set of arrow keys. Like I'd need any of it's weak universal remote functions Rolling Eyes.

Thanks for the work on it. It is very much appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19517
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2006 9:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cool, that was an experimental code, so I'm glad it worked.

Here's the KM file:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=3901

Keep in mind that this set uses 2 device codes, which is why the byte2 column is in use.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jcorey



Joined: 21 Apr 2006
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 9:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have done more playing with the television. Several of the keys I had learned apparently were done while in DVD mode, for whatever default DVD the remote is programed to use. So I put those keys back to device 2 to get them to work.

Since that leaves only eight keys using device 6, and they are of little use, will it save much memory to tweak the protocol/upgrade to remove those keys?

I put up another KM file in the diagnosis area with my tweaks.

One other oddity I have found is that the Power key is only doing a power off. Could it be something wrong when I learned it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19517
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 10:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since I created the upgrade, I have since got my hands on UEI's official upgrade for this TV, so I now know how to properly generate the mid-stream burst, so I will be posting a new upgrade in the next few days.

UEI said that they thought that the device 6 buttons were probably for another device, so they didn't include them in their upgrade.

Making the upgrade support just one device code will cut the size of the device upgrade in half as the buttons will all use 1 byte of variable data.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19517
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2006 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have just updated the original KM file so that it now uses the UEI protocol with 1-byte variable data. All of the buttons now use device code 2, and I removed the buttons labelled "2nd". Give it a whirl.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mr_d_p_gumby
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 1370
Location: Newbury Park, CA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 9:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
I have just updated the original KM file so that it now uses the UEI protocol with 1-byte variable data.
Since this one seems to be gaining popularity, I was thinking of adding support for it to KM. (We also have a copy of the HCS08 version.) I could then relay the details to Greg so he can add it to RM.

One problem: What name should we give to this protocol?
_________________
Mike England
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jcorey



Joined: 21 Apr 2006
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just wanted to come back to say that the upgrade went perfectly. The power button works as it should, even.

Thanks for the work you put into everything here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19517
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mr_d_p_gumby wrote:
The Robman wrote:
I have just updated the original KM file so that it now uses the UEI protocol with 1-byte variable data.
Since this one seems to be gaining popularity, I was thinking of adding support for it to KM. (We also have a copy of the HCS08 version.) I could then relay the details to Greg so he can add it to RM.

One problem: What name should we give to this protocol?

I have no idea. "Insignia" isn't such a good name as they use other protocols and there are other devices that use this one (like the Polaroid TTM-2420 TV).

Keep in mind though that my version of this exec is scalled down, the official version has some logic that supports a slightly different carrier freq.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19517
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2006 2:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mr_d_p_gumby wrote:
One problem: What name should we give to this protocol?

I just noticed that this is the same protocol that is used by Konka TVs, so unless anyone has a better idea, let's call it the "Konka" protocol.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mr_d_p_gumby
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 1370
Location: Newbury Park, CA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2006 11:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
mr_d_p_gumby wrote:
One problem: What name should we give to this protocol?
I just noticed that this is the same protocol that is used by Konka TVs, so unless anyone has a better idea, let's call it the "Konka" protocol.
It's also used by Tevion, Polaroid and Insignia TVs (so far). I was going to call this one "Samsung", based on some other information you and I discussed. Any problem with that?
_________________
Mike England
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Protocol Decodes All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central