JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Escient Fireball E2 Music/DVD server
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Slingbox
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 1:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TonyD wrote:
so should I be using Rob's custom Protocol from above or the MCE Protocol...


Maybe we were all typing at the same time and you hadn't yet seen the .rmdu file Rob posted above. It uses the MCE protocol. It has the device and subdevice numbers from that CCF file and I assume the function numbers are also correct.

You probably should review what Rob did on the buttons sheet before trying the upgrade.

TonyD wrote:

I'm a little confused about the Output tab in RM as well, what are we supposed to do with the Upgrade and Protocol codes listed there ... if anything.


Nothing. That is not for Singboxes. For a Slingbox you create the output with the Export command on the Advanced menu. I hope the big upgrade this creates is small enough to use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
TonyD



Joined: 04 Nov 2006
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here we are all posting at the same time Smile

Ok, just putting in Rob's test file that he posted just now at Noon today..

Power doesn't seem to work, but I will try some of the other codes now too and report back...

Thanks,

Tony
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TonyD



Joined: 04 Nov 2006
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, good tip on checking the buttons, nothing was mapped to Power, so I did that, but still not working, I tried several other buttons as well... Slingbox seems to accept the codeset ok, but nothing beyond that..

Thanks for the info on the Protocol stuff, that is helping to make more sense of this to me..

What are our options now?

Just looked at the Functions tab on the new file Rob posted at Noon today.. the EFC's are all 18 and the OBC and Hex are all 0 and 00 for every command... does that sound right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TonyD



Joined: 04 Nov 2006
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rob, at this time I do not need the NOKIA Keyboard Key codes(nor really every in the future for Slingbox that I can think of).

I really only need the FB1 MCE codes from what I can tell..

It would be coold for other fireball users to have the FB2,3,4 MCE codes down the road, but I only only have 1 fireball, so not a concern for me.

Thanks,

Tony
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TonyD



Joined: 04 Nov 2006
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, very weird.... I just deleted and redownloaded the RMDU file posted by Rob today and Noon and it is totally different than the one I DL'd just 30 minutes ago....

Anyways this one has the codes and buttons set up fine, Slingbox would not import the file at first, rebooted my Mac and now it does.. Gremlins somewhere in here I fear.. Anyways still not working the Escient box though..

Very Strange on both counts..

Any ideas.... Feels like we are getting close!

EDIT

[b]SLING BOX now does import the file, still no control though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TonyD



Joined: 04 Nov 2006
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2006 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sent Escient Tech support an email today and they got back to me with this:

To clarify:

FireBall H-40, E-40 & E-120 all had the same IR. Format was “TWERP”.

FireBall E2, SE, DVDM, MX all have the same IR (different from above), it is based off of the Phillips “RC6” format.

The FireBall E2 hand held remote uses the Philips RC6 protocol at 36kHz. The keyboard uses the Philips RCMM protocol that also uses a 36kHz carrier.

Attached is an Excel spreadsheet with all of the E2 RC6 and RCMM codes in CCF format.


Let me know what other info you need and I will try to help you get this resolved.

I know this works because I have had several customers tell me they have used Slingbox with our products.


Here is a link to the file attached...

http://homepage.mac.com/tdehnke/BigSky/FileSharing32.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TonyD



Joined: 04 Nov 2006
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 10:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well we seem to have hit a brick wall here, I've been playing around for the last few days and still no luck...

Is there a reason that the code sets we have will not work?

Anyone with some ideas or suggestions, your input would be greatly appriciated.

Our friends at Sling don't seem to be much help either. Sad

Thanks,

Tony
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 10:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

TonyD wrote:
I just need to control it, and only for 1 box, so I don't need Device 2,3,4


I understand you only need to control 1 box, but are you sure the 1 box you need to control is configured to listen for the FB1 commands? Maybe it is configured for FB2, 3 or 4.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18511
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

TonyD wrote:
Is there a reason that the code sets we have will not work?

I converted the CCF that you provided into a JP1 upgrade, there's nothing else I can do. Sorry.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 11:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rob, what about the upgrade size?

Is the upgrade you built small enough for a Slingbox? What are the symptoms if you try to build/use an upgrade that is too big for a Slingbox?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
zaphod7501



Joined: 02 Aug 2004
Posts: 528
Location: Peoria Illinois

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A couple of things that have popped up on upgrades. If a code number matches one of the built-in Sling codes there will be a conflict. Try a different number or device type (changing the device type - DVD vs VCR,etc - will give you a different starting letter but should not alter the commands).

If any commands are shown as "keymoves" in the output section, they may not be transferred to the "bin" file.

I always have people generate all three types of bin files (PL, JU, RV) since the Sling software seems to be able to select the right type.

Sorry, I don't have any specific ideas on the device in question..
_________________
Just call me Zaphod (or Steve) --- I never should have started using numbers in a screen name but I just can't stop now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TonyD



Joined: 04 Nov 2006
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, tried that ... a couple different #'s - no go

What is a RU file, I have only seen PL and JU for Sliing??

It's weird that this is so tough... When I talked with Escient they said they have had customers tell them they got the Slingbox to work with their Escient device... but I can't... Unfortunatly they don't know a customer who has it, so I can't get the IR file from them
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zaphod7501



Joined: 02 Aug 2004
Posts: 528
Location: Peoria Illinois

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 10:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The RV (not RU) is for the PAL version of the box. People don't always say where they are from when asking for help.
_________________
Just call me Zaphod (or Steve) --- I never should have started using numbers in a screen name but I just can't stop now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18511
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 11:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TonyD wrote:
When I talked with Escient they said they have had customers tell them they got the Slingbox to work with their Escient device

Then ask them to send you a working bin file and we'll take a look at it to see what it really looks like.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TonyD



Joined: 04 Nov 2006
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2006 1:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rob, that is what I tried to say in my post, they have had customers tell them that the slingbox works, but do not have records to contact them and get their BIN's from them unfortunatly.

They are looking into it for me still though..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Slingbox All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central