JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Assigning a specific EFC to a key (URC8810)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
e34m5



Joined: 14 Oct 2003
Posts: 675
Location: Atlanta

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2003 1:22 pm    Post subject: Assigning a specific EFC to a key (URC8810) Reply with quote

I have learned the discrete code for my amps' inputs to the L1 and L2 while bound to the RCVR device key.

How can I assign the same functionality to the L1 and L2 key with out binding them to a device.

In other words I want L1 and L2 to be global not device specific.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4767
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2003 1:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you need an extender.

With or without an extender, KeyMoves and learned signals are local. Only macros are global.

With a global macro you can switch to a device mode in which you have a local KeyMove on a phantom key and then execute that phantom key. That would feel to the user as if it were a global KeyMove. But if you don't have an extender that macro leaves the remote in the wrong device mode.

With an extender, a macro can TEMPORARILY switch to the right device mode to execute a desired KeyMoved function.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Nils_Ekberg
Expert


Joined: 02 Aug 2003
Posts: 1689
Location: Near Albany, NY

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2003 1:39 pm    Post subject: Re: Assigning a specific EFC to a key (URC8810) Reply with quote

e34m5 wrote:
I have learned the discrete code for my amps' inputs to the L1 and L2 while bound to the RCVR device key.

How can I assign the same functionality to the L1 and L2 key with out binding them to a device.

In other words I want L1 and L2 to be global not device specific.

If you know the built in device code they would work with (can be determined from learned signal in IR) you could do keymoves to phantoms in IR and put them in a macro on the L1 and L2 buttons since Macros are global.

Also, you could probably learn them to some other buttons and put those buttons in a macro. I think that works. Since you already have them on L1 & L2 try puting a macro on L4 with RCVR & L1 as the only buttons in the macro. The problem with doing it this way is you will always be left in RCVR unless you add the device to return to in the macro.
_________________
Nils
Files Section
Diagnosis File Section
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
e34m5



Joined: 14 Oct 2003
Posts: 675
Location: Atlanta

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2003 1:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I put the EFC on a phantom then running that macro will still leave the remote in that last device state... correct?

So I guess I need the extender since I understand that it can run commands and not affect the previous device state..correct?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nils_Ekberg
Expert


Joined: 02 Aug 2003
Posts: 1689
Location: Near Albany, NY

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2003 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

e34m5 wrote:
If I put the EFC on a phantom then running that macro will still leave the remote in that last device state... correct?

So I guess I need the extender since I understand that it can run commands and not affect the previous device state..correct?

Correct, with an extender you can start a macro with a temporary selection of a device, execute commands in that device and when it ends you are automatically back in the originating device.
_________________
Nils
Files Section
Diagnosis File Section
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central