JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Adding Slingbox support to RM
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gfb107
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3402
Location: Cary, NC

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's another update: RemoteMaster.zip.
I've included the same SlingRemote map and image again.
_________________
-- Greg
Original RemoteMaster developer
JP1 How-To's and Software Tools
The #1 Code Search FAQ and it's answer (PLEASE READ FIRST)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19080
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2005 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got the remaining device type letters...

Phono = P
Cassette = K
Misc Audio = M
DAT = J

I've also got the info on which protocols are in each chip (but not which version of each, though I think we can assume they're the most recent versions), so I'll try re-formatting the info and adding it to the RDFs soon.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19080
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2005 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just added the protocols to the RDFs. I also added the missing device types, but I haven't added the extra button maps yet, so I pointed all the new device types to the TV button mape (temporarily).

BINJU (Slingbox with UEI JU Chip).rdf
BINPL (Slingbox with UEI PL Chip).rdf

So, you can start letting RM generate the protocol when necessary.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19080
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 9:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Greg, I'm not sure what changed, but I'm having problems with both the latest version of RM and the last beta copy you provided.

When you fire up RM for the first time, you get the following pop-up...

http://www.hifi-remote.com/temp/screen1.gif

If you click it away and select a regular RMDU file, all seems well, but if you then change the selected remote to the JU Slingbox, the "Buttons" and "Layout" screens go blank.

If you then try to switch to the PL version, you get the following pop-up...

http://www.hifi-remote.com/temp/screen2.gif

Here's my rmerror file...
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=2131
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!


Last edited by The Robman on Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:40 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gfb107
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3402
Location: Cary, NC

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 9:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's the $ you've used in the Protocols section of the Slingbox RDFs. Get rid of them.
_________________
-- Greg
Original RemoteMaster developer
JP1 How-To's and Software Tools
The #1 Code Search FAQ and it's answer (PLEASE READ FIRST)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19080
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Greg, I kinda felt I must have been doing something wrong as it had worked before. Needless to say, it's working now!
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19080
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Greg, I just noticed something kinda funny. When you use the Export bin function, the button on the windows pop-up box that you get which lets you select where you want to save the file actually says "open" rather than "save".

Also, it's not remembering the folder that I last used for the Export function when I try to do another export.

Btw, did you ever add functionality to RM that checks if the total upgrade size is too big? This would already be needed for the Mits 740 remotes and it would also be needed for the Slingbox too now. IIRC, the 740 upgrade size limit is 50 bytes, and the size limit for the Slingbox is 200 bytes. This kinda sounds like another item that we should add to the RDFs (if it isn't already there).
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mr_d_p_gumby
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 1370
Location: Newbury Park, CA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
Btw, did you ever add functionality to RM that checks if the total upgrade size is too big? This would already be needed for the Mits 740 remotes and it would also be needed for the Slingbox too now. IIRC, the 740 upgrade size limit is 50 bytes, and the size limit for the Slingbox is 200 bytes. This kinda sounds like another item that we should add to the RDFs (if it isn't already there).
KM checks for the max length, but I think for the 740s, it just keys directly off the processor type and limits it to 50 bytes. There is a similar problem with some of the 6805 remotes and protocol upgrades (which RM checks for, I think), and for that we added MaxProtocolLength=??? to the RDFs. Maybe we could add a MaxUpgradeLength=??? for these cases.
_________________
Mike England
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19080
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Btw, I just upgraded the 2 Slingbox RDFs to include all the keymaps.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19080
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 12:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think there is a bug in the formula that RM is using to format the PL binary files. I tried to create a PL upgrade for someone but his Slingbox rejected the code, so I ran it through my PL-JU code verification spreadsheet and found that there were a handful of bytes not coded correctly.

I've put a zip file together which includes the original RMDU file, plus the JU and PL files that RM created, along with a new PL file that I creatd by hand (and am waiting for verification that it works). I've also included my verification spreadsheet, which you can use to verify your formula.

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=2139
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19080
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UPDATE: The user just verified that my edited PL bin file worked.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gfb107
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3402
Location: Cary, NC

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rob, I've found a bug that was causing some of the incorrect encryption.

However, there's still some values that aren't getting encrypted correctly, and I can't figure out why.

Code:
JU RM PL
-- -- --
8D 52 D2
AD 5A DA
CD 62 E2
ED 6A EA

The PL value for these JU values have the MSB flipped from what RM generates. Did you even come up with an a formula that accounted for these?
_________________
-- Greg
Original RemoteMaster developer
JP1 How-To's and Software Tools
The #1 Code Search FAQ and it's answer (PLEASE READ FIRST)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19080
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My encryption formulas are built into that verification spreadsheet that I posted, those are all based on the data samples that I currently have available. There's only one hex value that doesn't work using those formulas (a JU value of "7D" converts to "4E" rather than "CE"). Without additional data, I won't be able to come up with the definitive formula. Hopefully, when I get a PL Slingbox, I can create a fake upgrade that contains all the missing hex codes and see what they get converted to in the EEPROM.

Post whatever formulas you are currently using and I'll see if I can follow them and spot the error.

If you create a new build to fix the bugs that you've found, can you have RM start including protocols in the upgrades when needed please.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!


Last edited by The Robman on Sun Aug 28, 2005 10:24 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gfb107
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3402
Location: Cary, NC

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is my encryption code:
Code:
  public int encrypt( int val )
  {
    val &= 0xFF;
    int val1 = ( val >> 2 | val << 6 ) + 111;
    val1 &= 0xFF;

    int val2 = ( val & 0x80 ) & ( val << 7 );
    int rc = ( val1 ^ val2 );
    return rc;
  }


>> is the Java shift right operator.
<< is the Java shift left operator.
^ is the Java XOR operator.

You can get RM to include protocol code in the binary upgrades now by enabling that in the Options menu. I'll make it no longer optional for future builds.
_________________
-- Greg
Original RemoteMaster developer
JP1 How-To's and Software Tools
The #1 Code Search FAQ and it's answer (PLEASE READ FIRST)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gfb107
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3402
Location: Cary, NC

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
My encryption formulas are built into that verification spreadsheet that I posted, those are all based on the data samples that I currently have available. There's only one hex value that doesn't work using those formulas (it was 4C I think).

I'm so bad at Excel I don't even know how to see the formulas. Embarassed

According to http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=33353#33353
The JU value that caused problems was 7D, for which our formula generated CE but should be 4E. However, the hand coded sample you provided had 7D encrypted to CE and apparently that worked correctly.
_________________
-- Greg
Original RemoteMaster developer
JP1 How-To's and Software Tools
The #1 Code Search FAQ and it's answer (PLEASE READ FIRST)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Software All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Page 5 of 10

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central