JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Sharp LC-37G4U - need discrete codes

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Discrete Codes
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sirclicksalot



Joined: 14 Apr 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 7:47 pm    Post subject: Sharp LC-37G4U - need discrete codes Reply with quote

1. Device: Sharp LC-37G4U with external AVC TU-GA1U-S
2. Type of device: HDTV
3. JP1 Remote model: URC 8811
4. JP1 user? Yes
5. Still have original remote? Yes
6. Checked the file section? Yes
7. Checked Pronto file section (at R/C)? Yes
8. Partially working setup code? Cable/1093 (device upgrade downloaded from Files section)
9. Learning remote question? The original remote does not have discrete line input functions.

I've downloaded two device upgrades with line input discretes for other Sharp TV's but they don't work. The Pronto file section shows the same codes the upgrades use along with other Pronto user's comments saying the codes do not work for the larger size (like the LC-37G4U) TVs.

I was going to just try all the possible EFC values, but some of the Pronto codes are describe "scary" functions like "EEPROM reset". I'm sure there are no guarantees, but I'd welcome any comments regarding just how risky such an approach would be.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gjarboni
Expert


Joined: 20 Sep 2003
Posts: 294
Location: Columbia, MD

PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 9:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

With a TV, trying unknown has a small chance of causing you big problems. Some of these problems can only be solved by a visit from a technician. Just guessing, but I think "eeprom reset" would be a function that could cause you big problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
sfhub



Joined: 12 Oct 2003
Posts: 287

PostPosted: Fri Apr 22, 2005 12:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you remember to change the remote from 15-2116 to your
URC 8811 in KM?

Also, if you are not running extended remote, did you remember to
press the "P" button twice to do "shift-1". If you only press "P" button
once on a regular remote, it will put the remote in a mode where it
waits for 3 digits of an EFC value to send.

I wrote one of those upgrades you used, and from what I understand
of how Sharp AVCs work, it should function for your unit, but I only
tested on 45" "G" series, not the 37" "G" series.

In the worst case, at least Analog-A and Digital should work, because
those discretes exist on the stock remote from Sharp and I got their
values using learning mode on a 15-2117.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18406
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Apr 22, 2005 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The term "HDTV" by itself is a little ambiguous as it could refer to either an HDTV or an HDTV receiver. I'm guessing from your initial post that you are actually looking to control two totally seperate devices...

1. Sharp LC-37G4U - TV (with HDTV capabilities)

and

2. AVC TU-GA1U-S (an HDTV receiver, where "AVC" is the brand name and "TU-GA1U-S" is the model number)

Is this correct?

You say that downloaded CBL/1093, would I be correct in assuming that this code works the HDTV receiver box and not the TV itself?

When you say that you downloaded some Sharp TV upgrades but they "don't work", do you mean that none of the functions work, or just that the discrete codes don't work, there's a big difference. If none of the functions work, you should learn the functions from your Sharp remote to see what protocol and device codes they use. If you already have a partially working setup code that works the TV (as opposed to the stand alone HDTV receiver) please state what it is.

If the Pronto files include functions like "EEPROM reset", I'm guessing that they will also include a readme file or something like that explaining what that function does and probably a warning not to use it. If you know which codes to avoid in advance, it's probably safe to try all the other OBCs/EFCs, but of course, you do so at your own risk.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sirclicksalot



Joined: 14 Apr 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Apr 22, 2005 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the quick response! I did change the remote type to URC 8811 in KM. I am running an extender, but I also tried the upgrade as the only device on a "clean" install (i.e. no extender, no other upgrades).

The CBL/1093 upgrade works well. I use almost all the functions in the upgrade except discrete on/off, Input 5 (DVI), and card. The Analog-A function works. I don't have a DVI feed, so I can't tell if the Input 5 function works.

I don't use shift keys so I changed the upgrade to map the line input functions to the L1 - L4 keys, but I tried your double-press technique on the vanilla configuration as well. Although the functions still don't work, I did not know about he need to double-press for a shift on the 8811. Thanks for the tip!

The LC-37G4U and the AVC are two separate pieces of equipment and the AVC acts like an A/V Control Receiver, but the two devices are sold together and the LC-37G4U will not power up unless it is connected to the AVC via a special, proprietary, cable. I can cover the AVC with a thick blanket and still operate the "pair" normally, so I guess I'd say the codes operate the TV.

Maybe I'm not getting to the right Pronto area, but the remotecentral.com information is all in the form of BBS post like:

Video 4:
0000 006d 0000 0020 000b 0046 000b 001e 000b 001e 000b 001e 000b 001e 000b 0046 000b 001e 000b 0046 000b 0046 000b 001e 000b 001e 000b 0046 000b 0046 000b 0046 000b 001e 000b 0633 000b 0046 000b 001e 000b 001e 000b 001e 000b 001e 000b 001e 000b 0046 000b 001e 000b 001e 000b 0046 000b 0046 000b 001e 000b 001e 000b 001e 000b 0046 000b 0726

I don't see any Readme type information.

Using IRTools and KM the Pronto information usually resolves to:
Line 1 = EFC 151
Line 2 = EFC 155
Line 3 = EFC 148
Line 4 = EFC 115

sfhub's CBL/1093 upgrade uses:
Line 1 = EFC 152
Line 2 = EFC 150
Line 3 = EFC 154
Line 4 = EFC 048

But none of these values produce any visible reaction from my equipment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sfhub



Joined: 12 Oct 2003
Posts: 287

PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2005 1:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
I'm guessing from your initial post that you are actually looking to control two totally seperate devices...

1. Sharp LC-37G4U - TV (with HDTV capabilities)

and

2. AVC TU-GA1U-S (an HDTV receiver, where "AVC" is the brand name and "TU-GA1U-S" is the model number)

Is this correct?

You say that downloaded CBL/1093, would I be correct in assuming that this code works the HDTV receiver box and not the TV itself?

Some models of the Sharp Aquos LCD TV line include an external AVC
(audio video center) which is basically a video switcher, scaler, and
analog/HDTV tuners.

For all intents and purposes, the display and AVC are a single unit as
the AVC doesn't accept IR directly (or if it does, it doesn't need to,
because mine is sitting in an inaccessible region). Rather the display
has the IR sensor and communicates with the AVC over a "system cable"

The upgrade was defined as CBL device to maximize number of buttons
available w/o using keymoves. The functions control all aspects of the
television and AVC switchbox/scaler/tuner.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sfhub



Joined: 12 Oct 2003
Posts: 287

PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2005 1:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sirclicksalot wrote:

Using IRTools and KM the Pronto information usually resolves to:
Line 1 = EFC 151
Line 2 = EFC 155
Line 3 = EFC 148
Line 4 = EFC 115

sfhub's CBL/1093 upgrade uses:
Line 1 = EFC 152
Line 2 = EFC 150
Line 3 = EFC 154
Line 4 = EFC 048

But none of these values produce any visible reaction from my equipment.

Another thing you should probably consider is the Sharp LCD TVs/AVCs
use multiple device #s within the same remote control IR set.

I needed to use device #s 1, 17, and 30 to implement the full set of
controls for the LC-45GD4U/LC-45GX6U. So what I'm saying is your
EFCs are not complete unless they are accompanied by a device #.

If you look at the CBL/1093 device upgrade in KM, you'll notice a byte2
column on the "functions" sheet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18406
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2005 8:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sirclicksalot wrote:
Maybe I'm not getting to the right Pronto area, but the remotecentral.com information is all in the form of BBS post like:

Video 4:
0000 006d 0000 0020 000b 0046 000b 001e 000b 001e 000b 001e 000b 001e 000b 0046 000b 001e 000b 0046 000b 0046 000b 001e 000b 001e 000b 0046 000b 0046 000b 0046 000b 001e 000b 0633 000b 0046 000b 001e 000b 001e 000b 001e 000b 001e 000b 001e 000b 0046 000b 001e 000b 001e 000b 0046 000b 0046 000b 001e 000b 001e 000b 001e 000b 0046 000b 0726

I don't see any Readme type information.

Using IRTools and KM the Pronto information usually resolves to:
Line 1 = EFC 151
Line 2 = EFC 155
Line 3 = EFC 148
Line 4 = EFC 115

You're obviously looking at either the discrete code page or the forum itself, you should also be checking the Pronto file section. I see there are 2 files for Sharp Aquos sets here.

When I use IRTool to decode that hex, I get just one line:

Sharp, device code 1, OBC 205, EFC 151

Also, it appears that the CBL/1093 code you referred to is actually a user-created upgrade that you downloaded. When you wish to refer to an upgrade in a post, please don't refer to it by whatever setup code the creator happened to use for it, because this code has no global meaning, instead it's a much better idea to just post a link to the file in question.

When you refer to a code by it's name, like CBL/1093, we will assume this is an official UEI setup code, and we'll go looking for the official info on that code.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sfhub



Joined: 12 Oct 2003
Posts: 287

PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2005 11:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
When I use IRTool to decode that hex, I get just one line:

Sharp, device code 1, OBC 205, EFC 151

I'm guessing the OBCs are the same in the Pronto upgrade and my KM
device upgrade and the reason the EFCs don't match what KM says is
because I used Sharp Combo protocol to create the upgrade. How KM
calculates EFCs for this situation, someone more knowledgable than I can
answer. I'm guessing EFCs are not really usable from the remote for
some or all 2-byte protocols unless the protocol writer has found a way
to shrink the # bits needed.

But that doesn't help you figure out why your AVC doesn't respond to
discrete inputs.

I guess this is the main thread on RemoteCentral about the discretes
not working on 37G4U:
http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin/mboard/rc-discrete/thread.cgi?1827,1

I didn't see any resolution, but it seemed "PC Direct" did work and
from there you could do a "input toggle" kludge/macro.

Another thread that was relevant, and summarized all the different
Sharp variations that had been discussed:
http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin/mboard/rc-discrete/thread.cgi?2049,1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Discrete Codes All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central