JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

The chip partner FTDI cable
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Market Place
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
davecs



Joined: 28 Mar 2005
Posts: 318
Location: UK

                    
PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2023 7:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ylaviolette wrote:
Just wanted to report back on the Arduino Nano option:
a $5 solution working perfectly. Design above is correct.
Didn't need to pull-up SDA/SCL for the URC-9910.
I just Super glued 6 Dupont female cables together, soldered to the Arduino + shrink wrap.
The cheapo AliExpress 328p works a charm; just need to set it to "Atmega 328p (Old bootloader)"




I can finally get rid of my parallel cable =)

Thanks for your help on this.


I used to have one of those convertor things that you use between an FTDI cable and an old JP1, but I've either mislaid it, or it ended up in the vacuum cleaner.

I do have a couple of old JP1 remotes, not been able to play with them. And during a recent clear-out I turned up a spare 3x2 dupont connector. I've been put off trying to make the Arduino interface because I wasn't sure how it was put together, and there was also some complex programming involved which I'm not sure if it works under Linux.

Having seen your solution, I have to ask: Is that it? Do I have to upload any scripts to the Arduino board? Or do I just connect stuff together as per your illustration and it works directly from RMIR?
_________________
URC7560/URC7562, URC8910, URC7980, URC6440/OARUSB04G and URC3661
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ylaviolette



Joined: 17 Feb 2009
Posts: 134

                    
PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2023 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you are used to DIY solutions this one is quite simple :
No "complex programming" involved.
Order board as detailed earlier in thread.
Install Arduino IDE.
Upload ino file to board as detailed above.
Make connections as detailed in my design.
Configure as jp1x in RMIR
Bingo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davecs



Joined: 28 Mar 2005
Posts: 318
Location: UK

                    
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2023 5:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I've done a bit of online research and found that it's a simple matter to upload from Linux. My only other question is whether, once uploaded, the ino file stays put when the usb power is removed, or you have to upload it every time you connect it.

I think that these posts about connecting with an Arduino should be separated into a new thread. Some of the older threads on the subject are actually quite off-putting, but these posts are clear and simple.

EDIT: OK I've ordered a Nano V3.0 ATmega328P from Ebay for 4.65, and a bunch of Dupont-ended wires on the 3 for $6 from Ali Express. I have a soldering iron, and I've installed the Arduino package for Linux. So, the adventure starts when it all arrives.

Thanks to ylaviolette for the illustration that made it all clear!
_________________
URC7560/URC7562, URC8910, URC7980, URC6440/OARUSB04G and URC3661
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 4442
Location: Cambridge, UK

                    
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2023 7:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It stays loaded.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davecs



Joined: 28 Mar 2005
Posts: 318
Location: UK

                    
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2023 8:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mathdon wrote:
It stays loaded.


Great. I can stop writing (in my head) the udev routine to re-load the ino file on plug-in! Very Happy

EDIT: In anticipation of the Arduino and bits arriving, I thought I'd strip my 8910 which had stopped working. Turns out that there is a coil inside it, which I'd have thought was for telephone/audio updates they used to have in the early days. The coil had broken loose, and was floating. I relocated it and taped it down with nano tape, put a few layers of nano tape inside the case facing it to ensure it couldn't break free again, put it back together again, tested every button, and it appears to be working! Obviously there was more to the coil than just telephone updates. Looking forward to connecting it up again!
_________________
URC7560/URC7562, URC8910, URC7980, URC6440/OARUSB04G and URC3661


Last edited by davecs on Sun Jul 23, 2023 9:07 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 4442
Location: Cambridge, UK

                    
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2023 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

davecs wrote:
I have a soldering iron, and I've installed the Arduino package for Linux.

What will need soldering? If you have bought an Arduino with pins and Dupont cables that are F to F then you shouldn't need to do any soldering.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davecs



Joined: 28 Mar 2005
Posts: 318
Location: UK

                    
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2023 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mathdon wrote:
davecs wrote:
I have a soldering iron, and I've installed the Arduino package for Linux.

What will need soldering? If you have bought an Arduino with pins and Dupont cables that are F to F then you shouldn't need to do any soldering.


The board I ordered is unsoldered.
_________________
URC7560/URC7562, URC8910, URC7980, URC6440/OARUSB04G and URC3661
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
davecs



Joined: 28 Mar 2005
Posts: 318
Location: UK

                    
PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2023 1:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

An epilogue re my Arduino order. Bad news which became good news (but other bad news at the end)!

I ordered it on 21 July and contacted the seller when it hadn't turned up by 27th. I reported it as not received on 29th and the seller sent a replacement. What I didn't know until today was that he gifted me a second Arduino Nano for the inconvenience. Very nice touch.

I was unaware from pictures I'd seen just how small they were. I used Female to Male dupont-ended wires and removed the covers from the male end, pushing heat-shrink over the wire. Possibly due to my unsteady soldering, or the heat generated, I think I ruined one. Or possibly just bad joints, but anyway, it didn't work properly.

What I did with the second one was to break off 4 pins from the strip of pins that are provided to solder into the board, 2 together and 2 singles. I was able to use the other pins to balance the board while I soldered the four, then used female to female dupont wires. If I ever buy another Arduino it will be with the pins soldered on. You live and learn!

The little 2x3 bank of connectors held the 6 individual dupont female connectors in place while the superglue set. And that one works!!

Sadly, I think my URC-8910 is faulty as it will not communicate with RMIR via the Arduino, and I'm trying to remember if that's why I gave up on it in the first place and bought the 7980 and later the 6440. All the button presses respond in the right way. I will be asking about that in a new thread.

The two URC-7560/2s I have (same remote different colour) do up- and download correctly. I do have an issue about installing the extender which I will raise in a new thread.
_________________
URC7560/URC7562, URC8910, URC7980, URC6440/OARUSB04G and URC3661
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ylaviolette



Joined: 17 Feb 2009
Posts: 134

                    
PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2023 9:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I spent hours trying to figure out why my new PC would not accept RMIR connections to my remotes via the JP1 cable I detailed above;
It was working with a number of other PC's so I went through all possible troubleshooting:

- Checked all contacts for continuity
- Redid the soldering
- Changed RMIR versions
- CH340 driver versions (2014,2019,2023)
- Java versions
- USB cables
- COM ports
- Port speed
- etc. etc. etc.

As I was about to give up, I've enabled the following and.... Bingo.



It was not needed on other PC's with the exact same configuration.
I don't think I saw any mention of this elsewhere so hopefully this will help avoid wasting a number of hours troubleshooting.

cheers.


Last edited by ylaviolette on Thu Sep 21, 2023 10:16 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 21144
Location: Chicago, IL

                    
PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2023 10:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You don't mention how to get to that menu screen that you posted.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ylaviolette



Joined: 17 Feb 2009
Posts: 134

                    
PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2023 10:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good point:

Device manager - Ports COM & LPT - CH340 - Port Settings - advanced.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 21144
Location: Chicago, IL

                    
PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2023 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, I got it:
1. Device Manager
2. Ports (COMP & LPT)
3. Right click on the relevant entry
4. Select Properties
5. On the pop-up screen, select the Port Settings tab
6. Click on the Advanced button

I don't know if it's because I don't have a JP1 cable plugged in right now, but the version of that screen that I get stops at the COM port selection, I don't have the 3 check boxes below it.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 4442
Location: Cambridge, UK

                    
PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2023 7:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Like Rob, the version of that screen that I get stops at the COM port selection, I don't have the 3 check boxes below it. That is with an Arduino with a CH340 chip plugged in, though it is configured as an AIRWidget not as a JP! EEPROM cable. I can't believe that makes any difference, so I think those options must be specific to your new PC. Do they appear on your other PCs that don't need this setting? What PC is your new one? Are you aware of anything unusual about it? I have looked up about the Serial Port Enumerator but everything I find says that it is needed to identify a legacy serial mouse, which makes little sense in your case.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 21144
Location: Chicago, IL

                    
PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2023 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could it be Windows 10 vs. 11? I'm using Win10.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 4442
Location: Cambridge, UK

                    
PostPosted: Sun Sep 24, 2023 6:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
Could it be Windows 10 vs. 11? I'm using Win10.

So am I, so yes, it could be.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Market Place All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Page 6 of 7

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Top 7 Advantages of Playing Online Slots The Evolution of Remote Control