JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Yamaha RX-V992

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Non-JP1
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tc88518



Joined: 01 May 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2004 2:53 pm    Post subject: Yamaha RX-V992 Reply with quote

Hello,
I thought it would be easy to buy a All For One remote, URC-8910, and be a couch potato, but once again this wonderfull world of technology requires a new learning process. I have a Yamaha RX-V992 receiver, I am able to do most of the functions with the 1176 code enterred and learning keys. One problem, I can't turn on the unit with the remote. Tech support said that "What we would need to use for this is advanced function codes".

Code:
URC 8910/URC9910

To achieve advanced functions
1)  Hold set until screen reads "code set"
2)  Arrow down eight times to "key mover"
3)  Press select, it should read "from mode"
4)  Press the device key that you want the function to come from (ex: TV)
5)  The screen will read "from key"
6)  Tap the set button and it will read "SYNT"
7)  Then press 3-digit advanced function code
8)  Press select screen will read "to mode"
9)  Tap the device key you want the function to go to (ex: TV)
10) Screen will read "to key"
11) Then tap the key where you want function to go to (ex: select)
12) Screen will flash success then exiting setup will appear
13) LED screen will return to main screen


Audio/1176 - Amp/Tuners ---- <TUN Group> 

375 A/B/C/D/E      485 DSP Effect U  248 Power On    554 Disc
498 Diagnostic M   233 DSP Effect D  246 Power Off   558 VCR3

AUDIO AMP/TUNER.
300 9...............Cable             300 8...............Cable
369 6...............CD                560 ................DVD
624 3...............DVD/LD            306 BAND............MD
621 7...............Phono             565 PLAY............Play
506 POWER...........Power Toggle      377 CHANNEL DOWN /.Preset Down
629 CHANNEL UP .....Preset Up         243 VOLUME DOWN.....Rm 2 Volume Down
243 MUTE............Rm 2 Volume Down  495 VOLUME UP.......RM 2 Volume Up
300 9...............Satellite         300 8...............Satellite
308 FAST FORWARD....Search Forward    568 REWIND..........Search Reverse
311 SKIP FORWARD....Skip Forward      571 SKIP REVERSE....Skip Reverse
313 STOP............Stop              627 4...............Tape
367 5...............Tuner             497 INPUT...........TV/DBS
237 1...............V-Aux             622 2...............VCR 1
370 0...............VCR 2


Well at step 7 I enter 248 then "select" and I get a "invailed error"
Any suggesstions?

Thanks,
Bake
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaskedMan
Tivo Expert


Joined: 10 Feb 2004
Posts: 690

PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2004 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try, Try, again

1. press RCVR/AMP
2. press and hold SET
3. scroll down to KEYMOVER
4. press SELECT
5. press RCVR/AMP
6. tap SET
7. enter 2-4-8
8. press SELECT
9. press RCVR/AMP
10 pick a key
_________________
Edmund
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18515
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2004 4:24 pm    Post subject: Re: Yamaha RX-V992 Reply with quote

tc88518 wrote:
Well at step 7 I enter 248 then "select" and I get a "invailed error" Any suggesstions?

Did the screen read "SYNT" before you started typing 248? If not, you did something wrong prior to that. I just walked through your instructions using a URC-8910 myself and they're exactly correct.

Btw, 248 is the "Discrete On" code, the regular POWER code is 506.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
tc88518



Joined: 01 May 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2004 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey thanks for the replies. I'm at work now, so I'll try this when I get home and update you.

Bake
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tc88518



Joined: 01 May 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2004 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One other thing, I'm confused as to line 4 "from key". Why do you want it to come from somewhere? The generic suggestion was "TV".

bake
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2004 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tc88518 wrote:
One other thing, I'm confused as to line 4 "from key". Why do you want it to come from somewhere? The generic suggestion was "TV".


A KeyMove needs two kinds of source information: A setup code and a command.

The "from mode" is the way of getting the setup code. The KeyMove will copy whatever setup code was last programmed for the device mode you select in that step.

The "from key" prompt indicates that it wants the command. The "normal" method of providing the command is to press the key that the command should be copied from. But you want an "advanced" command, which can't be copied from a key, so you provide the three digit EFC number of the command.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Non-JP1 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central