JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Cox URC7820 Learning

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Non-JP1
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
joball70



Joined: 07 Aug 2008
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Sun Jul 28, 2019 10:55 am    Post subject: Cox URC7820 Learning Reply with quote

Not sure if i'm posting in the right area....but I have a Cox urc7820 remote(The 3046 signature), supposedly with learning capability. I cannot seem to get it to work. with the (975 command). It seems it should work. It blinks twice, when i enter 975, and does the rapid blinking, when i'm trying to learn from other remotes. Am stumped!?!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 4025

PostPosted: Sun Jul 28, 2019 11:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Learning capability in that remote is highly unlikely. As is the case with most cable remotes, even though learning may be supported in the software, it lacks the physical hardware (IR receiver) to do it.

Since you have JP1, you can load any codes you want. What are you trying to learn (make/model/command)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joball70



Joined: 07 Aug 2008
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Sun Jul 28, 2019 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dang...oh well. Didn't like that remote's button layout anyway.

I lost both my JP1.3 seriel & JP1 parallel port cables unfornately.

Thank you for quick reply.

On a side note....if i ever do find those cables, or order new ones, what's the best combo JP1/Learning remote, with a comfortable button layout out there
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 4025

PostPosted: Sun Jul 28, 2019 12:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=594

See the last few pages. My personal fav is the Inteset.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joball70



Joined: 07 Aug 2008
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Sun Jul 28, 2019 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Interesting....i looked up the Inteset on the web. I like the layout. Is there any difference between the versions 422-2, and 422-3? Also, i assume these are JP1.3 with processor of S3F80. Plus....if i do find JP1.3 cable...would i be able to use with the IR.exe program(am most familiar with that program)?

Man....i better start looking hard, for my JP1 cables, in my many boxes of tangled wires & cables...lol. Getting that JP1 itch again Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19238
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Jul 28, 2019 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can get a JP1.x FTDI cable for under $10, see this thread for info:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=16360

You can use it with IR.exe but keep in mind that that program is considered obsolete and is no longer supported, all current updates are in RMIR.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
joball70



Joined: 07 Aug 2008
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Sun Jul 28, 2019 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the link Robman...I better read up on RMIR
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joball70



Joined: 07 Aug 2008
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2019 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What do you think of these 2 USB JP1 cables, on ebay? Would either of them work straight out of box, with RMIR?

https://www.ebay.com/itm/273357454860
https://www.ebay.com/itm/283058032000
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19238
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2019 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Both of those cables are from a seller that I am not familiar with called "cable-store" and he doesn't say what chip he used to make those cables, so while I expect they will work, I can't say for certain. I don't believe that they're FTDI cables though.

Actually, I see from his ebay profile that he's based in Canada, so this is probably prelude, the guy behind https://www.diygadget.com/
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
joball70



Joined: 07 Aug 2008
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2019 11:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I clicked on that diygadget.com link. They do have a FTDI chip usb cable for $29.99...

https://www.diygadget.com/remote-control-accessories/jp1-2-1-3-flash-usb-cable-for-universal-remotes-ftdi-chip

P.S. I believe this is where i got my JP1.2/1.3 Serial cable from a while ago
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19238
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2019 11:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

did you check out the FTDI cables on ebay for around $8 ?
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
joball70



Joined: 07 Aug 2008
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2019 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it this one from ebay? The one with Independent DuPont head version?

https://www.ebay.com/itm/312234679584

Kind of leary buying from China, after purchasing a few EasyCap video capture devices with failed chips/DOA lol. But then again, they were fairly cheap in price. And eventually, the 3rd one had a good chip.

Since it's only $8 bucks...i might get it Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19238
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2019 1:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Everything comes from China in one way or another. The only drag with ordering direct from China is the longer delivery times, but yes, that particular cable has been confirmed to work by another JP1 user.

As you say, it has individual connectors, rather than a conventional 2*3 connector. If you want to standard connector, you can get 40 of them for $3.80 here: https://www.ebay.com/itm/263051820184

If you have the 2*3 connector, you can pop out the individual connectors and pop them into the 2*3 (as described here).
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
joball70



Joined: 07 Aug 2008
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2019 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very true. Everything seems to come from China. Ok...Thanks for all the info, and links Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Non-JP1 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central