JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Macro Delay

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bevhoward



Joined: 24 Jun 2005
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2019 6:11 pm    Post subject: Macro Delay Reply with quote

How does one include a delay in a macro?

I'm using a macro to switch from TV to computer and I need to issue a keyboard command in order to bring the computer out of "suspend" mode in the event that it has gone to sleep.

There is a delay after the input command selects the HDMI port that the computer is connected to. As a result, the keyboard command is never sent.

A related question; I'm currently using <space> as the wake command. This is less than ideal since in some circumstances such as a Text Editor being the last program used and the computer is not yet in suspend mode, that adds a <space> into the current document.

Any suggestions for a better keyboard command?

Thanks in advance,
Beverly Howard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3960

PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2019 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are several ways, each of which depend on what model remote you have. Please remind us which one you're using.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bevhoward



Joined: 24 Jun 2005
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2019 10:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

>> which one you're using <<

That question doesn't bode well based on a number of other unsuccessful attempts to do things. ;-/

OARUSB04G... and, I'm invested... have four of them now ...primarily because of their direct USB transfer capability.

In most other respect, they have served me well once I got things stabilized.

One of the thoughts I had was the possibility of building a long dummy command and keeping it around as a stock delay key. Does that make sense?

Thanks for the response.
Beverly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 3180
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2019 11:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have the OARUSB04G extender installed? The extender includes the Pause protocol that is for this specific purpose, see p.25 of the manual that is included in the extender package.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bevhoward



Joined: 24 Jun 2005
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2019 11:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

>> Do you have the OARUSB04G extender installed? <<

Thanks... no, since my needs so far have been met without it, but I have downloaded it and will install it within a day or so when I have available time.

First look indicates that it might address another issue that I overcame with a macro assigned to an available button.

Thanks!
Beverly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3960

PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2019 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you decide against the extender I think we can load just the stand alone pause protocol.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bevhoward



Joined: 24 Jun 2005
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2019 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

>> the stand alone pause protocol <<

I searched for something like this, but was unable to find it. Would you point me to more info about this?

TIA,
Beverly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18874
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If all else fails, there's always the old "Zenith VCR pause trick", info below:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=1143

Basically, Zenith VCRs, which use VCR/0039, require a very long press of the RECORD button, so the Zenith protocol has logic in it which tests for the PAUSE button and makes it last for a couple of seconds. One way to make a pause is to program the RECORD button to use this setup code, in a mode where you don't need RECORD.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3960

PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bevhoward wrote:
>> the stand alone pause protocol <<

I searched for something like this, but was unable to find it. Would you point me to more info about this?

TIA,
Beverly
Open your RMIR file, go to Devices, New, type in a Setup Code (i.e. 1234), pick "Pause Protocol (Special)" for the Protocol.

On Functions tab, make some pauses like 1 sec, 2 sec, 5 sec and 10 sec on buttons 1, 2, 5 and 0 respectively. The Durations would be 16, 32, 80 and 160 respectively. Go to the Buttons tab and click Auto Assign.

Click OK, then Cancel so you don't assign it to a device Button.

Now make some Key Moves. For example, put a 1 sec pause on TV key Shift-1. Click New on Key Moves tab, pick Device TV, Key 1, check Shift. Click the Device Upgrades button and pick the Pause device you just made, i.e., STB/1234. Pick Key then 1 in the drop-down. Put "1 sec pause" in the Notes.

Now whenever you use TV Shift-1 in a macro, it should do a 1 sec pause.

The process is a little easier if you load the extender and use that pause instead.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bevhoward



Joined: 24 Jun 2005
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2019 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for both responses!

Onward... through the fog!

Beverly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central