JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Delcom JP1 USB installation
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18775
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2019 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hard drives are very cheap now, so it might be a good idea to buy another, and maybe get a big one while you're at it, like 1tb or 2tb or whatever your PC supports.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
HamburgerHelper1



Joined: 22 Feb 2014
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2019 8:24 am    Post subject: Delcom JP1 USB installation Reply with quote

vickyg2003

I will try and make a bootable flash drive with linux and RMIR on it
If i am succesful i can give that to you.
If I ever have the time to make it i am very busy right now
It may not help you now but maybe in the future anyway
I will let you know when /if i ever get it done
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7045
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2019 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I now have two working Windows 7 machines!

I started out with the broken one, and restored it to my 2013 image, which had all the software for everything. That worked great, 185 updates later and I'm back in business with a working drive.

Next to be tackled was my husband's old DELL N5110. Glad I didn't start there, because I've worked on this for over 12 hours to get it up and running.

Since this computer was working I have a SATA cradle, I followed the instructions to clone a disk. The instructions on moving to an SSD drive failed to include a key step. After figuring that out I was back in business for a bit.

The Dell R5110 doesn't have access from the bottom. You have to remove everything.
You open the trap door, remove the memory.
Remove 10 screws off the bottom
Remove the DVD drive,
Remove the SD card blank face
Pry off the keyboard.
Disconnect the keyboard from the mother board.
Disconnect the remaining ribbons
Remove 4 screws
Pry off the face plate
Disconnect the wifii
Disconnect the monitor
Remove 4 more screw
remove the monitor
disconnect the wires from the mother board
Unscrew 5 more screws
Pry out the motherboard
Screw out 2 more screws 6 more screws and you have the hard drive out.
When putting it back to gether, I dropped a screw inside.
When I turned it back over, the screw, two cylinders and a mini circuit board were lying on my white paper towel. Oops.

Cylinders were the posts for the right hinge of the monitor.
mini circuit board was a Reed Switch Sensor Circuit Board - H7PRC , took me an hour of googling to figure out what that was and where it went.

Put the whole thing back together, and the keyboard didn't work, undo undo undo. Redo, redo redo.

It works! The spreadsheet that used to take 2 minutes to open now opens in 4 seconds.

I learned so much, but needless to say getting a spare hard drive to play this game all over again is outside what I'm willing to do in the name of JP1ing.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7045
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2019 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

user jmezz13 helped me get the Delcom issue sorted out, without his help, I'd still be twiddling my thumbs.

I also have my Jp1.2/3 cable running on 10

Here is a write-up of the procedure with screen shots.
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=25588

I updated the Delcom drivers with the words **Not for Windows 10** and I popped the writeup with the drivers too.

Edit: May 23, updated the document with pictures of the cable, and copied the verbose instructions on using a WinUSB by class ID for the more technical adept.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central