JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Nevo C3 How to teach RF commands via the RMIR application?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Nevo and Xsight Remotes
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
misha



Joined: 01 Feb 2018
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2018 1:09 pm    Post subject: Nevo C3 How to teach RF commands via the RMIR application? Reply with quote

I bought Nevo C3 mainly to use RF because I have very good IR control in Harmony. Now I would like to teach Nevo the RF commands from the remote control to the electrical sockets. It's all about electrical sockets and remote control from the links below.

https://www.orno.pl/en/category/productData/4992/3-channel-remote-controller-ORNO-Smart-Living

https://www.orno.pl/en/category/productData/4987/Remote-controlled-socket-with-dimmer-function-ORNO-Smart-Living

Using the Broadlink RM Pro and RM plugin application I managed to read the pilot code. It looks like this:

b20022030907092809280a0709070a28092809070a2808080928090809280
9070929090709070a28090709280908092809070929082909070928090809
0809280928090709280a0709280908080809280928090809070a280907092
809280a070928090809280907090809280907092909280907092908080928
09080829090709280a06080001500857090709280928090809070a2809280
90709290907092809080928090709290907090709280a0709280908092809
0709280a2809070a27090809070929092809070a270a07092809080907092
80929090709070a280907092809290907092809070a2809070a0709280907
0929092809070a27090809280908092809070a2809060900014f0956090709
290829090709080928092809070a280907092809080928090709290907090
8092809070928090809280908092809280907092909070908092809280907
0a2809070a270908090709280a28090709080928090709290928090709280
908092809070a07092809080928092809070929090709280908092809070a
2809060900014f0956090709290928090709080928092809070a2809070a28
090709280908082909070a070928090709290907092908080928092809080
92809070a07092809280908092809070929090709070a2809280907090809
2809080928092809070929090709280a07090709280a07092809280908092
8090709290907092809080829090609000150085609080928092809080808
092809280908092809070929090709280908092809070a07092809070a280
90709280a07092809280908092809070a0709280928090809280907092909
0709070a28092809080808092809080928092809070929090709280a07090
709280a07092809280908092809070a280907092809080928090609000150
085609070a28092809070908092809280908082909070a280907092809080
92809070908092809070a2809070928090809280928090809280907090809
28092809080928090709280908090709280a2809070908092809070929092
8090709280a07092809070908092809080928092809080928090709280a07
092809070a280906080005dc092809070a28

How to add it through RMIR. Which Device Type, Setup Code and Protocol?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xnappo
Expert


Joined: 30 Dec 2003
Posts: 848

PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 10:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Misha,

If you select another RF device, does it show up in RM-IR at all? I will see if I can play with it this weekend, as far as I know no one has ever done a custom RF upgrade, but it should be possible in theory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
misha



Joined: 01 Feb 2018
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 10:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What do you mean by "select another RF device"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xnappo
Expert


Joined: 30 Dec 2003
Posts: 848

PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What I mean is to try to find some other RF controllable device, and manually program the remote to use it.

Then download the remote using RM-IR and see what that device looks like.

I will try doing this myself over the weekend.

I have no idea what to expect though - hopefully someone else will chime in Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3752

PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Euro versions of this remote seem to have a lot of RF devices built in that we don't have on ours in the US. So just add a few Home Automation devices at random and lets see what they look like. If there are any in particular you know for sure are RF only, that would be most helpful.

Graham, can I fool my Nevo into thinking it's European by just doing a reset and choosing a language besides english?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xnappo
Expert


Joined: 30 Dec 2003
Posts: 848

PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mdavej wrote:
The Euro versions of this remote seem to have a lot of RF devices built in that we don't have on ours in the US.


Dave - how to you know this? Is there a list somewhere?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3752

PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 3:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here are the few that I know of, mainly from reports from European users in other forums. It also has some clues about how the RF protocols work.

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=100238
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 2948
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mdavej wrote:
Graham, can I fool my Nevo into thinking it's European by just doing a reset and choosing a language besides english?

Yes you can fool it, but not by the choice of language. You need to do a 981 Factory Reset - an ordinary reset is not sufficient - after which you get to choose both language and region. These are independent of one another. You need to choose Europe as your region.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
misha



Joined: 01 Feb 2018
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 2:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

xnappo wrote:
What I mean is to try to find some other RF controllable device, and manually program the remote to use it.

Then download the remote using RM-IR and see what that device looks like.

I will try doing this myself over the weekend.

I have no idea what to expect though - hopefully someone else will chime in Smile


Unfortunately, I will be able to do it on Tuesday. The problem is also that I don' know which devices from the list available in the remote control are RF controlled.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3752

PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 12:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I put my Nevo in Euro mode and added several Home Automation devices and posted the resulting RMIR file here:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=25080

Of particular interest are the One For All devices of device type "OEM Mode" and new protocol ID 00FD. Take a look at those and see if there are any RF clues. The One For All devices are also what some users are controlling RF home automation devices like the ones I posted in the other linked thread. I've also updated my post with the full procedure posted in another forum.

In US mode, the Fridgidaire home automation device also looks interesting as it controls an air conditioner, presumably in RF mode, but appears to use IR protocol NEC1.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xnappo
Expert


Joined: 30 Dec 2003
Posts: 848

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 11:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

FYI - my project for this weekend is going to be adding an RF receiver to a Raspberry Pi. I am going to use this for receiving RF from my XSight, then sending a command to IFTTT to control my Lutron lights.

However, this setup could be used for your issue as well - as with the RaspPi it is possible to 'learn' RF and transmit it.

Obviously not a project for a non-programmer though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
misha



Joined: 01 Feb 2018
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2018 8:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I can use RaspPi to transmit RF commands, but in this case Nevo C3 is useless for me. I can send an IR command from my Harmony remote to RaspPi which will change it to the RF command.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xnappo
Expert


Joined: 30 Dec 2003
Posts: 848

PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2018 10:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

misha wrote:
Yes, I can use RaspPi to transmit RF commands, but in this case Nevo C3 is useless for me. I can send an IR command from my Harmony remote to RaspPi which will change it to the RF command.


Well not totally, it is at least RF->RF instead of IR->RF. But yeah, not ideal obviously!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Nevo and Xsight Remotes All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central