JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Microsoft MCE Keyboard Remote
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 5, 6, 7 ... 11, 12, 13  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Keyboards
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6940
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sat Sep 09, 2017 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
vickyg2003 wrote:
Rob, is there a 2 byte limitation on function hex?

A limitation on who's part?.

Keymaster, RemoteMaster, RMIR?

I've been fiddling with those mouse commands looking for a pattern. I do see some columns of 4 bits that are all the same, and the final bit being a parity bit, but I can't find any pattern. Its such a few commands.

I tried to use the commands on my NUC but it doesn't show any infrared devices, at the same time, I went into the bios and its enabled and I have a choice of generic, xbox or RC6 commands in the bios.....
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18076
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sat Sep 09, 2017 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The first 8 bits are fixed, the next 5 bits are variable, the next 8 bits are fixed (at zero), the next 8 are variable, the final 8 bits are mostly fixed at zero, but for 3 buttons (colon, comma and right square bracket) there are 2 bits that might be set.

So, what you could do is, treat the first 8 bits as the 1st device code, the 8-bits of zeroes could be the 2nd device code and the last 8 bits could be the 3rd device code. You could use 2 variable bytes where the 2nd byte populates that 8-bit variable portion. 5 bits of the first variable byte can populate the 5-bit variable portion. That leaves 3 bits spare, which you can use to populate the 2 bits on the last byte that sometimes get set.

The benefit of doing all that executor logic is that you would have 2 variable bytes rather than 4, saving you 2 bytes per button. But the question is, will the executor use up more bytes than you save?
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6940
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2017 5:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Rob, I already did the keyboard commands, but there were mouse commands in the samples from Harmony as well.

Here is the keyboard upgrade. It looks good to me, not sure if the timings need to be adjusted to make it work, but bumps are in the right place.
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=14676


No its the shorter mouse commands that are giving me fits.

Code:

1   36199   Repeat:   +2700; 00001000 00011 0000 000 0000 00 0011 1100 -74400 RightClick
2   36529   Repeat:   +2700; 00001000 00101 0000 000 0000 00 0101 1010 -74400 LeftClick

3   36529   Repeat:   +2700; 00001000 01111 1111 010 0000 00 0001 0000 -10800 MouseUp   
4   36529   Repeat:   +2700; 00001000 00001 0000 000 1111 01 1001 1110 -10800 MouseLeft
5   36529   Repeat:   +2700; 00001000 10000 0000 111 1111 00 0000 1111 -11100; Mouse_L_Down
6   36529   Repeat:   +2700; 00001000 01000 1111 010 1111 01 0001 0111 -11100; Mouse_L_Up
7   36529   Repeat:   +2700; 00001000 10000 0000 101 0000 10 1000 1111 -11100; Mouse_R_Down   
8   36529   Repeat:   +2700; 00001000 01110 1111 011 0000 10 1001 0001 -11100; Mouse_R_Up
9   36529   Repeat:   +2700; 00001000 01111 0000 000 0000 10 1001 0000 -10800 MouseRight


I do see where there are 4 1111 or 0000 in a row that corresponds to a direction.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18076
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2017 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vickyg2003 wrote:
I do see where there are 4 1111 or 0000 in a row that corresponds to a direction.

Yeah, I just noticed those too. So, once you handle the 8-bit device code, you have 26 variable bits, which would require 4 variable bytes. If you can reduce it to 24 bits or less, you can use 3 variable bytes. So, if you could handle those 4 bits using 1 or 2 bits, you would be down to 23 or 24 bits.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6940
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2017 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The sad thing is, I'm a huge pack rat, and last year forced myself to clear off a shelf in my bookcase. I threw out all the books on DOS based programming, including how to program for a mouse..... It seems to me that some of those bytes are speed in the various X Y direction. If I knew the specs we could probably simplify it by making them the same speed in all directions.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6940
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay I am seeing some patterns finally

There are 5 bits that are comped in every frame.


00001000 01111 1111010 0000000 00 ~10000 ; UP
00001000 11110 0000110 0000000 00 00001 ; Down



Lefts
have 1111
00001000 01000 1111010 1111010 00 10111 ; Left UP
00001000 00001 0000000 1111011 00 11110 ; Left
00001000 10000 0000111 1111000 00 01111 ; Left Down

Rights have 0000
00001000 01110 1111011 0000101 00 10001 ; Right Up
00001000 01111 0000000 0000101 00 10000 ; Right
00001000 10000 0000101 0000101 00 01111 ; RightDown;

Ups have 1111s
00001000 01111 1111010 0000000 00 10000 ; UP
00001000 01000 1111010 1111010 00 10111 ; Left UP
00001000 01110 1111011 0000101 00 10001 ; Right Up

Downs have 0000s
00001000 11110 0000110 0000000 00 00001 ; Down
00001000 10000 0000111 1111000 00 01111 ; Left Down
00001000 10000 0000101 0000101 00 01111 ; RightDown;


Clicks With Mouse buttons
00001000 00011 0000000 0000000 01 11100 ; Left Click
00001000 00101 0000000 0000000 10 11010 ; Right Cick

There are 2 bits that appear to indicate which button are pressed.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18076
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 10:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think the first 5 bits (counting the bits from left to right) are a checksum of the rest of the data, but I haven't spotted the formula yet. Bits 1 and 10 are the same.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6940
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 10:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have added the Mouse Commands to my MCE zip file, so now the Keyboard and Mouse buttons as well as the regular MCE upgrades are sitting there waiting for someone to test them.

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=14676


I haven't seen jriker1, the OP, around lately. I PM'd him when I finished the KeyBoard commands, but he hasn't picked that up. It could be the weather,
Those hurricane's have been impacting lots of people . I hope I didn't do this for nothing.

I can't figure out why my NUC's infrared device isn't showing up, or I'd test it myself.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18076
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 9:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

vickyg2003 wrote:
I haven't seen jriker1, the OP, around lately. I PM'd him when I finished the KeyBoard commands, but he hasn't picked that up. It could be the weather, those hurricane's have been impacting lots of people.

Looks like he's in the Chicago area, so I don't think it's hurricane related. I just emailed him (and copied you).
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3500

PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Amazing work Vicky, Barf and Rob. I have no MCE IR dongle anymore to test these, but I can fill in a few gaps. Here are some additional codes I found in the keycodes table below that could be added to your keyboard upgrade (OBC values in hex. I don't know what to use for byte 2 (complement?)). Nobody will probably ever use these, so it's just as well if they are not added. Just wanted to post them for completeness if it ever comes up.

http://kodi.wiki/view/Using_a_Microsoft_remote_control_in_Windows#Table_of_key_codes

(Not pretty, but I was too lazy to transpose the columns)
Code:
Hex Function
2E - Equal
46 - Print Screen
47 - Scroll Lock
48 - Break (Ctrl-Pause)
4B - Page Up
4E - Page Down
4F - Right Arrow
50 - Left Arrow
51 - Down Arrow
52 - Up Arrow
53 - Num Lock
54 - Keypad /
55 - Keypad *
56 - Keypad -
57 - Keypad +
58 - Keypad Enter
59 - Keypad 1 End
5A - Keypad 2 Down
5B - Keypad 3 PageDn
5C - Keypad 4 Left
5D - Keypad 5
5E - Keypad 6 Right
5F - Keypad 7 Home
60 - Keypad 8 Up
61 - Keypad 9 PageUp
62 - Keypad 0 Insert
63 - Keypad . Delete
64 - Europe 2
65 - App
66 - Keyboard Power
67 - Keypad =
68 - F13
69 - F14
6A - F15
6B - F16
6C - F17
6D - F18
6E - F19
6F - F20
70 - F21
71 - F22
72 - F23
73 - F24
74 - Keyboard Execute
75 - Keyboard Help
76 - Keyboard Menu
77 - Keyboard Select
78 - Keyboard Stop
79 - Keyboard Again
7A - Keyboard Undo
7B - Keyboard Cut
7C - Keyboard Copy
7D - Keyboard Paste
7E - Keyboard Find
7F - Keyboard Mute
80 - Keyboard Volume Up
81 - Keyboard Volume Dn
82 - Caps Lock
83 - Num Lock
84 - Scroll Lock
85 - Keypad , Brazilian Keypad .
86 - Keyboard Equal Sign
87 - Keyboard Int'l 1
88 - Keyboard Int'l 2
89 - Keyboard Int'l 2
8A - Keyboard Int'l 4
8B - Keyboard Int'l 5
8C - Keyboard Int'l 6
8D - Keyboard Int'l 7
8E - Keyboard Int'l 8
8F - Keyboard Int'l 9
90 - Keyboard Lang 1
91 - Keyboard Lang 2
92 - Keyboard Lang 3
93 - Keyboard Lang 4
94 - Keyboard Lang 5
95 - Keyboard Lang 6
96 - Keyboard Lang 7
97 - Keyboard Lang 8
98 - Keyboard Alternate
99 - Erase
9A - SysReq/Attention
9B - Keyboard Cancel
9C - Keyboard Clear
9D - Keyboard Prior
9E - Keyboard Return
9F - Keyboard Separator
A0 - Keyboard Out
A1 - Keyboard Oper
A2 - Keyboard Clear/Again
A3 - Keyboard CrSel/Props
A4 - Keyboard ExSel
E0 - Left Control
E1 - Left Shift
E2 - Left Alt
E3 - Left GUI
E4 - Right Control
E5 - Right Shift
E6 - Right Alt
E7 - Right GUI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18076
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mdavej wrote:
(Not pretty, but I was too lazy to transpose the columns)

I fixed it.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6940
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 5:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just like the mice commands there is some sort of checksummy thingy in those codes that i don't know what they mean. But maybe some day.....
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18076
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 10:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Vicky, while answering Graham's questions in your other thread, I discovered an old spreadsheet that I put together that does the conversion to binary for you, check it out...

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=11301

Here's a version with the MCE times loaded...

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=14688
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18076
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 10:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have split the NUC conversation to here:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=100972

JR, feel free to edit the subject line to something more meaningful if you like.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6940
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
Hey Vicky, while answering Graham's questions in your other thread, I discovered an old spreadsheet that I put together that does the conversion to binary for you, check it out...

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=11301

Here's a version with the MCE times loaded...

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=14688

I'll take a look at this, but typically I leave this part up to someone else, as my dyslexia really makes this part unpleasantly hard.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Keyboards All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 5, 6, 7 ... 11, 12, 13  Next
Page 6 of 13

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central