JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Problem with URC 8810w...

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Non-JP1
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Ichinisan



Joined: 10 Apr 2004
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Apr 10, 2004 9:24 pm    Post subject: Problem with URC 8810w... Reply with quote

I don't have the time/money to build or buy an interface; I just want to use my remote to 'learn' a function and assign it to a standard button (NOT an "L" button). Is this possible?

I'm having trouble because the included Apex code does not work with my mother's AD-1201 DVD player. The 'Power' button stops the disc from playing but does not actually power-off the unit. Also, the player will not respond to *any* of the other standard keys.

Her Emerson television seems to work fine. The channel/volume buttons, Mute, Power, and Display seem to work. However, my television displays the time when the Display key is pressed but it will not respond to any Menu or Setup button, so there seems to be no way to set the time or scan for available channels. She does not have the original remote and there is no way to access the television's menu from the fixed buttons.


Last edited by Ichinisan on Sun Apr 11, 2004 12:01 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18514
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sat Apr 10, 2004 10:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, you can learn to almost any button (with a few exceptions).

Once you have found a working setup code, for either the DVD or the TV, you can then use advanced codes to fix any buttons that don't do what they should.

Here are the advanced codes that you would need for the AD-1201:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/cgi-bin2/ueic.cgi?DVD_Apex_1100W

As for the TV, you could try looking up the setup code here:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/ofa/adv-codes.shtml#tv
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ichinisan



Joined: 10 Apr 2004
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Apr 10, 2004 11:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
Yes, you can learn to almost any button (with a few exceptions).

Once you have found a working setup code, for either the DVD or the TV, you can then use advanced codes to fix any buttons that don't do what they should.

Here are the advanced codes that you would need for the AD-1201:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/cgi-bin2/ueic.cgi?DVD_Apex_1100W

Thanks for your help, but there's something that I don't understand. How do I get to a point where I can assign a code to a button? I can assign a code to a device, but that's as far as the user's manual goes...

Also, I'm no longer at my mother's house, so I'll need to try some things with my Sony Vega 30XBR and Cyberhome CH-DVD 300. Any help would be appreciated. I'm particularly interested in assigning buttons to switch directly to specific inputs, as the standard remote (Sony RM-Y188) does not have this function (it requires me to cycle through each input). I have heard that it is possible to use "discrete codes" to switch directly to a specific input. I would also like to find discrete codes for different screen modes (4:3, 16:9, Zoom, Stretch, etc). It might be possible for me to use a macro to assign a specific screen mode to each input! Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaskedMan
Tivo Expert


Joined: 10 Feb 2004
Posts: 690

PostPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2004 3:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The advanced codes(EFC) for Sony tv's are here:

http://www.hifi-remote.com/cgi-bin2/ueic.cgi?TV_0000

The EFC for VIDEO 2 is 030:

1. press Tv
2. press and hold SET for two blinks
3. enter 9-9-4
4. press SET do not hold
5. enter 0-3-0
6. pick a key
_________________
Edmund
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18514
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2004 9:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ichinisan wrote:
Thanks for your help, but there's something that I don't understand. How do I get to a point where I can assign a code to a button?

http://www.hifi-remote.com/ofa/advanced.shtml

Ichinisan wrote:
I can assign a code to a device, but that's as far as the user's manual goes...

Which is why I created this web site, to fill in the blanks left bythe manuals.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Non-JP1 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central