JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Dumb Question
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6919
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 5:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

unclemiltie wrote:
IIRC the "scrambling" mode didn't change the key values, it changed the signal that got sent by the keypress to prevent others from learning the signals stored in the remote.

You do recall correctly. The buttons were all shooting the wrong codes. It was a nasty problem until the rdfs were fixed.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
unclemiltie
Expert


Joined: 21 Jan 2004
Posts: 1706
Location: San Ramon, CA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

All of the "JP1" remotes (well not all, but most) of them use the S3C8 processor. Those are masked ROM processors for the system code and have no on-board flash. The EEPROM is a separate chip that is a serial EEPROM that is connected to one of the ports on the S3C8

All of the JP1.3 remotes use the S3F8 processor that has on-board flash so the system code as well as the area that is writable from the JP1.3 port is in the internal flash. The stuff that is not writable is protected so it can't be read/written.

Both use the same instruction set, the only difference is the on-board flash in the "later" S3F8 variants.
_________________
this JP1 stuff is a sickness!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HamburgerHelper1



Joined: 22 Feb 2014
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 6:35 pm    Post subject: Update Reply with quote

Ok so this is what I have done I was using the Millennium4-4MXXXBJ8XXX RDF
Because this remote is Millennium4-4MXXXBJ10-R
but I was having troubles with it I could not find the arrow keys putting
all the keys into several macros.
But by switching the pic in theAtlas 5 Day URC-1055_11055 JP1.3 3033 RDF
the remote will work.I have not renamed things yet but oh well
also my tv updates work on cbl device button but not on tv device button
I have a Non-JP1 VIZIO Remote that does the same thing so I will live with the remote working this way and rename buttons when I get to it
Thanks Everyone
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central