JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Addressing DirecTV Genies with Nevo C3

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Nevo and Xsight Remotes
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
floyd1977



Joined: 10 May 2006
Posts: 198
Location: Montgomery, IL

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2016 5:44 pm    Post subject: Addressing DirecTV Genies with Nevo C3 Reply with quote

I did some searching around here and remotecentral.com but couldn't find an answer to my question.

I just bought a pair of Nevo C3 remotes, which I like a lot so far, but I just realized that their RF bases are not addressable. That probably won't be a big deal since the equipment in the two rooms I will be using them will be different, except for the DirecTV receivers.

Now, the C3 has a feature to control DirecTV directly with RF, but I can't figure out what 6-digit code it's asking me for. I'm thinking that 6-digit code applies to earlier receivers, not the Genie.

My other thought was to just control the Genies with IR via the RF base. I noticed that the DirecTV protocol I'm using (01 62) allows for up to 8 addresses (1-8). Is there a way to change the IR address of a Genie? I have a feeling they are all set up as address #1.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3573

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2016 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, the C3 can only control the old HR20/H20 series of DirecTV boxes by RF.

I haven't had DirecTV in many years but you used to be able to change the address on the DVR by going to Remote Setup - Advanced. I'm not sure about the Genie. If user Edmund sees this thread, he would know for sure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
floyd1977



Joined: 10 May 2006
Posts: 198
Location: Montgomery, IL

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2016 6:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. Ultimately, I may need to just use IR in one of my rooms. I'm moving to a new house in the Spring, and I will need to hide equipment in one of the rooms. In the other room, I probably will not, but it would be nice to have that option.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Nevo and Xsight Remotes All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central