JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Need .bin file from LIRC for Customized NBC Remote
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Slingbox
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jojo



Joined: 03 Oct 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2016 11:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="vickyg2003"]Hmm something looks wrong with your file.

Hi Vicky,

NBC is a terrestrial NEC2 set top box.

Where am I going wrong?

Regards,
Jojo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Barf
Expert


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 786

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2016 11:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

vickyg2003 wrote:
Hmm something looks wrong with your file.

Protocol 99 99
Protocol Import only.


Vicky, you appear not to have read the context. The file is generated from a Lirc file by IrScrutinizer. At that point, information about the RM protocols is not present, but have to be manually entered, either im RM or otherwise. "Importonly" means exactly what the name suggests, also see the comments in the file. Background.

@jojo: So it is a problem with RM. As I said, I cannot reproduce ("see"?) the problem. Post the rmaster.err so that a we can analyze the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
jojo



Joined: 03 Oct 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2016 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Barf,

Please find the rmmaster.err file here:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=14225

Regards,
Jojo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jojo



Joined: 03 Oct 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2016 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Barf,

I don't have any such problems with RemoteMasterv2.03build14.

Now I am able to generate a rv.bin. Though when I plug the .bin file to slingbox, it doesn't let me continue and tells me invalid custom bin file.
What am I missing?

Infact I have downloaded various rv.bin available on the slingbox website and am not able to plug it successfully. I must be missing something?

Regards,
Jojo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alanrichey
Expert


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 3336
Location: UK/USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2016 1:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unless you have a very old European manufactured Slingbox you should be using the PL BIN file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Barf
Expert


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 786

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2016 2:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jojo wrote:


I don't have any such problems with RemoteMasterv2.03build14.


That is good news! It means that

* it is a problem that was introduced since that version. (Also explains why I could not reproduce it.) Graham, can you have a look at it? The previously uploaded rmaster.err appears useful.

* You can use the old one in between.

Quote:

you should be using the PL BIN file.

This is probably the solution to the second problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3602

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2016 6:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Most people should not be using any version past 2.03 14. Later ones support a few new remotes but also introduced several new bugs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jojo



Joined: 03 Oct 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2016 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Alan,

Thanks for the pointer.

Hi Barf,

Thanks a lot for the support.

I have been able to set up the custom remote.

Though some keys are picked up thrice. On pressing the arrow keys or volume keys. It is picked up thrice.

Am I missing something?

Regards,
Jojo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jojo



Joined: 03 Oct 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2016 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Barf,

Using NEC1 protocol instead of NEC2 helped solve the issue.

Thanks a lot for all information provided to me.

Appreciate your support.

Regards,
Jojo Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alanrichey
Expert


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 3336
Location: UK/USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2016 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just for future reference, the Slingbox system sends 3 copies of the iR Burst to ensure it's received. But some sensitive receivers will react to more than one burst. The latest PROTOCOLS.INI has a number of extra protocols (Including NEC), tweaked to set the repeat rate to zero. By default they are not shown but you can access them under the Options Menu in RM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Barf
Expert


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 786

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2016 1:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For the record: the first Lirc file appears to be NEC1-like signals, just that the lead-in (the first gap and the following gap) was missing. The second one was a Lirc raw file. Such a file just one sequence, so there is no way to specify a repeat method. (Yes, Lirc is primitive Mad). So IrScrutinizer came up with the only reasonable conclusion: assumed that the (single) given sequence repeated. I.e., NEC2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Slingbox All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central