JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

samsung ht-c5500

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Discrete Codes
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
igeek



Joined: 01 Sep 2016
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2016 10:09 pm    Post subject: samsung ht-c5500 Reply with quote

I am having real difficulty setting my Charter 1060bc3 remote to operate my samsung HT-c5500 blueray player. I am thinking to use DVD button on remote for accessing SmartHub on the c5500. Once I am in SmartHub I think I can access its apps, and play a blue ray disc. I already have the audio key on remote set to global volume of the c5500. Is this the correct way to automatically set the right input, bd/dvd or dc. in for apps like pandora?

My set top box is a pace110rng plugged into hdmi 2 of my TV. Any assistance would be much appreciated. I dont know the code(s) I need to insert to make it function.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3796

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2016 11:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you fill in the rest of this please. I've filled in what we know so far.

1. Device: samsung HT-c5500
2. Type of device: Audio
3. Year: 2010
4. JP1/UEI Remote model: Charter 1060bc3
5. Do you have a JP1 cable?
6. Still have original remote? N/A
7. Checked the file section? Yes
8. Checked Pronto file section (at R/C)? Yes
9. Partially working setup code?
10. Learning remote question? N/A
11. Have you tried the JP1 Lookup Tool? Yes
12. If you have a Nevo (or similar) remote, have you tried ez-rc.com or simpleset.com? N/A

I've found out this much so far:

Samsung HT systems use NECx2 device 67.83

Not sure if any such codes are built in to the 1060b03 or not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
igeek



Joined: 01 Sep 2016
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2016 3:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is all really new to me. No, I do not have a JP1 cable. I haven't figure a way to map the functions to a key or whether I need to do a series of commands.

For instance I had a harmony 650 that would map the commands "watch TV" to control the Panasonic flat screen for channel changes and HDMI 1, and select D IN function for the audio on the C5500.

For the "watch a Movie" the function would change to BD/DVD on the C5500 and if there were a disc in the player it would play the movie, if no disc then the Smarthub would display on the screen and I used arrow keys to select app to run, Netflix, Pandora, Web, etc.

In typing this I am starting to get a clearer picture. Now Im thinking I need the code to change the function on C5500 to BD/DVD and map to DVD key on charter remote. Does that seem correct?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3796

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2016 3:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Understood. We just need some basic information in order to give you the best solution. Since you have no JP1 cable, we now know we have to take a different approach.

I'll expand on my other remaining question. Have you found any code at all that at least gives you some control of the C5500 like power or volume? If so, what is that code? That will give us a starting point. Otherwise, I'll have to do a more extensive search before I can give you a solution.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
igeek



Joined: 01 Sep 2016
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2016 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Using Charter site for the 1060bc2/1060bc3 remote, I selected audio receiver as my device to program. There are 4 code options there, 31500 worked to map the volume to Audio key. I then used code 992 to make audio key global volume for all devices.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3796

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2016 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great. So press DVD and assign code 31500 and try the buttons. Then tell us what specific commands you're still missing.

We'll tackle the Harmony type of activity programming after we get the C5500 fully working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
igeek



Joined: 01 Sep 2016
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2016 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, 31500 did work to turn off the C5500. But no change to the function BD/DVD from D. IN.

Also, TV input should be changed to HDMI 1 which goes directly to C5500, the HDMI 2 goes to Pace box for TV viewing.

So pressing DVD on Charter should act like this:

C5500 ->BD\DVD
Panasonic TV -> HDMI 1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
igeek



Joined: 01 Sep 2016
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2016 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I guess the FF and Rewind need to be functional as well. I was just concerned with making C5500 changing functions. There is a button in middle of Charter remote labeled MY DVR. So thinking further...maybe DVD button should change/toggle HDMI, MY DVR should cycle through C5500 functions? Is that a solution?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3796

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2016 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

None of the input switching via the device buttons (DVD, TV, etc.) will be possible without a JP1 cable. But we can certainly make it work if you're willing to put those functions on different buttons, like MY DVR as you suggested. However there is already the SOURCE button at the bottom left that probably performs that function.

Can you simply list the functions you want to control on the C5500?

So far I'm only seeing:

BD/DVD
HDMI 1
HDMI 2
D. IN
FFWD
REW
INPUT (cycle through all inputs)

You don't care about PLAY, PAUSE, STOP, UP/DOWN/LEFT/RIGHT/OK, MENU?

So again, I need you to press DVD, switch to the appropriate input manually for now, then press each button on the remote and see what does or doesn't work.

We have to do this one step at a time. We'll get to the discrete inputs and activity macros later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3241

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2016 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's a RMDU file which should work with the Samsung HT-C series. It has good similarity to 31500.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3796

PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks 3FG.

iGeek, looks like you'll have to make do with the INPUT_SCROLL command below. There are apparently no discrete codes for HDMI 1, 2, etc. Assign any of the commands to any button using this procedure:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/wiki/index.php?title=Manual_Programming_-_9xx_Commands#Program_Effective_Function_Code_.28EFC.29_for_a_single_device

Code:
00091   CHANNEL_DOWN
00219   CHANNEL_UP
00120   CURSOR_DOWN
00184   CURSOR_ENTER
00216   CURSOR_LEFT
00248   CURSOR_RIGHT
00056   CURSOR_UP
00090   DIGIT_0
00169   DIGIT_1
00167   DIGIT_2
00171   DIGIT_3
00164   DIGIT_4
00168   DIGIT_5
00166   DIGIT_6
00170   DIGIT_7
00026   DIGIT_8
00154   DIGIT_9
00006   EXIT
00136   FORWARD
00133   FULL_SCREEN
00138   FUNCTION_BLUE
00100   FUNCTION_GREEN
00235   FUNCTION_RED
00104   FUNCTION_YELLOW
00214   INFO
00121   INPUT_SCROLL
00011   INTERNET
00231   MENU_DISC
00150   MENU_MAIN
00107   MENU_TOP
00103   MODE_SFE
00025   MUTE_TOGGLE
00123   NEXT
00149   OPEN/CLOSE
00008   PAUSE
00187   PLAY
00185   POWER_TOGGLE
00251   PREVIOUS
00198   REPEAT
00244   RETURN
00132   REVERSE
00217   SLEEP
00059   STOP
00116   TOOLS
00091   TUNER_TUNE_DOWN
00219   TUNER_TUNE_UP
00027   VOLUME_DOWN
00151   VOLUME_UP


Last edited by mdavej on Sat Sep 03, 2016 3:11 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
igeek



Joined: 01 Sep 2016
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, you are right about the input key on Charter remote allowing for selecting the correct TV inout such as HDMI1 and etc.

I can see where all the difficulties are going to be now. Mapping each key to a different operation, as well as, changing the programmed default functions of the Charter remote- such as the select/OK key is globally matched to the CBL button, where I would want it to select an app if I were in DVD mode. I obviously need to get a JP1 cable to do the customization. Thank you for your efforts mdavej. I know we would be able come up with a solution using this method, but it is highly impractical considering a JP1 cable would do it much more effectively. I ordered a cable and will pursue it further with the right tool for the job.

@3FG thanks 3 - I will look at that file when I get a cable.

Have a Great Holiday Weekend!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
igeek



Joined: 01 Sep 2016
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As I was posting, mdavej was posting the code list HAHAHA I will review it, but I think I will wait for the cable to really do it right.

Thank you both very much for your efforts. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Discrete Codes All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central