JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

EFCs for Roku
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Code Search (Closed)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MaskedMan
Tivo Expert


Joined: 10 Feb 2004
Posts: 690

PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2016 2:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Still only available on Wi-Fi direct remotes, no IR remotes have that key. There are Roku tv IR remotes with a new key I would like to find, HBO Now.
_________________
Edmund
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3770

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2016 10:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lurker wrote:
So there still is no Hulu code?
You can always find new codes yourself the same way I do. Just try every code from 00000-00255 except for the ones in this post

There's no point in trying unless Roku has released a new firmware since the last time you tried. I made 4 device upgrades that include all 256 codes which I can load and test every one in about 10 minutes. You may also want to retry ones that are defunct like rdio.

Streaming providers pay lots of money to get a Roku code or button of their own. So buttons don't go to the most popular apps, but to the ones with the deepest pockets.
http://televisions.reviewed.com/features/roku-remote-uselss-rdio-button


Last edited by mdavej on Mon Aug 01, 2016 4:01 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3770

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2016 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I did another brute force search since we got a new firmware July 1, 2016. I found Hulu, HBO Now, Showtime, Red Bull TV and Spotify. Many commands are duplicated throughout, so I've posted only the lowest OBC versions.

I updated my main Roku codes post and my Roku device upgrade.

I also added the logos for Xsight/Nevo.


Note to self: Here's the protocol for IRScrutinizer so I don't have to dig for it next time around.
Code:
[protocol]
name=Roku-Official
irp={38.0k,564}<1,-1|1,-3>(16,-8,D:8,S:8,F:7,0:1,~F:7,1:1,1,^108m, (16,-8,D:8,S:8,F:7,1:1,~F:7,0:1,1,^108m)+) \
[D:0..255,S:0..255=255-D,F:0..255]
EFC_translation=LSB comp
[documentation]
This IR protocol is very similar to NEC2, except the repeat behavior is different. The second and additional frames of a repeating signal send the OBC + 128.


Last edited by mdavej on Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:29 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaskedMan
Tivo Expert


Joined: 10 Feb 2004
Posts: 690

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2016 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Dave, they work GREAT!!!!!
_________________
Edmund
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lurker



Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2016 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you Dave!! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Barf
Expert


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 835

PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2016 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Dave:

The "Roku-Official" protocol is in the "official" IrScrutinizer since around a year. (Added to Git on June 7, 2015.)

Keep up the good work!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3770

PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2016 1:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. Didn't realize I was using an old version until it was too late.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3770

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quick update to original codes post and files. Made another pass and found some more abandoned codes and duplicates. Old MGo code is FandangoNow as is Movies. See codes list linked above for details.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6954
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2016 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the legwork dave. I love my Roku 4.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3770

PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2016 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No problem. It's very satisfying seeing all those streaming apps and logos on my Nevo. Sad part is I'm giving my only remaining Roku to my daughter in a few weeks and won't have one to tinker with anymore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
R2-M0



Joined: 14 Aug 2009
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2016 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any suggestions for an EFC that would work as a decent "Discrete On"?

Of course, I know the Roku is always on. I'm really just looking for a signal that would be enough to bring it out of screensaver, but not enough to actually change state in any way if the screensaver wasn't active to begin with.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3770

PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2016 12:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try the old NowTV code and let us know what happens.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
R2-M0



Joined: 14 Aug 2009
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2016 5:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No joy, I'm afraid. Tried the old rdio code too, and the Roku completely ignored both.

It isn't a huge deal, anyway. Not that difficult to just push OK if the screensaver is active. It's only that I'm so used to being able to JP1 my way around so many other inconveniences, I figured there had to be a way around this one too and I was just missing it.

But... you can't always get what you want. Thanks anyway!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18516
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2016 11:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

R2-M0 wrote:
It isn't a huge deal, anyway. Not that difficult to just push OK if the screensaver is active. It's only that I'm so used to being able to JP1 my way around so many other inconveniences, I figured there had to be a way around this one too and I was just missing it.

What happens if you press OK when the screensaver is NOT active, does it do any harm? If it does no harm, you could always start your macros with the OK button. If there's a risk that you could have a menu on the screen where OK would select an item, do you have an EXIT button that will clear any menu? If so, maybe you start your macros with EXIT and OK.

(Sorry if any of this has been covered in previous posts, I haven't read through the whole thread).
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3770

PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2016 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There may very well be some EFC that exits the screen saver without doing something else. I didn't check for that. No harm in trying every one. But it would be very time consuming, and I'm not keen on doing it myself. I don't mind posting a list of all the EFCs that apparently don't do anything if someone else wants to try.

OK and Exit aren't harmless enough IMO. Depending on where you are, they could launch a different app, buy a movie, who knows. I've found that Up arrow or Star is pretty safe. I probably use Up arrow or Home to exit the screen saver most of the time without even thinking. Yes, it can move you somewhere you didn't want to be, but down arrow gets you right back.

Here's a way to keep Roku from ever going to screensaver in the first place, if you have a PC on the same network.

https://forums.roku.com/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=71670
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Code Search (Closed) All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Page 6 of 8

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central