JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

how to edit rmir file

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ckeays



Joined: 12 Jan 2015
Posts: 126
Location: Toronto, Ontario

                    
PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2016 4:21 pm    Post subject: how to edit rmir file Reply with quote

Hi Everyone.

I have read all the information I need. I am not a beginner. I know the NEC protocol.

I want to edit some of the data in remotemaster.jar.

I want to change the command since my remote is not a learning remote. I am well aware of the format where the first value "+" is activity and the second value "-" there is no activity. The value is in microseconds.

Code:
+8998 -4500; +560 -1690; +560 -562; +560 -562; +560 -562; +560 -562; +560 -562; +560 -562; +560 -562; +560 -562; +560 -1690; +560 -1690; +560 -1690; +560 -1690; +560 -1690; +560 -1690; +560 -1690; +560 -562; +560 -1690; +560 -1690; +560 -1690; +560 -562; +560 -562; +560 -562; +560 -562; +560 -1690; +560 -1690; +560 -1690; +560 -1690; +560 -1690; +560 -562; +560 -562; +560 -562; +560 -40514; +8998 -2250; +560 -96716;


this is a "1"
Code:
+560 -1690;

and this is a "0"
Code:
+560 -562;


but I can't edit this code, remotemaster will not allow it.

I can however edit this code but it has no meaning to me
Code:
14 27 18 00 D2 83 24 24 55 55 55 55 44 44 44 45 44 45 55 54 44 44 55 51 30 82 30


now how do you get this:
Code:
14 27 18 00 D2 83 24 24 55 55 55 55 44 44 44 45 44 45 55 54 44 44 55 51 30 82 30


from this:
Code:
+8998 -4500; +560 -1690; +560 -562; +560 -562; +560 -562; +560 -562; +560 -562; +560 -562; +560 -562; +560 -562; +560 -1690; +560 -1690; +560 -1690; +560 -1690; +560 -1690; +560 -1690; +560 -1690; +560 -562; +560 -1690; +560 -1690; +560 -1690; +560 -562; +560 -562; +560 -562; +560 -562; +560 -1690; +560 -1690; +560 -1690; +560 -1690; +560 -1690; +560 -562; +560 -562; +560 -562; +560 -40514; +8998 -2250; +560 -96716;


is there some meaning to this
Code:
14 27 18 00 D2 83 24 24 55 55 55 55 44 44 44 45 44 45 55 54 44 44 55 51 30 82 30


I am assuming it's derived from the other string.
I am hoping someone can explain this to me without telling me to read the forums for days. A simple answer on how to edit the file would be nice.

As a thankyou, I will upload the files I am working on so others can benefit from it.

Thanks in advance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 4500

                    
PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2016 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is no correlation between the code you posted and the protocol upgrade code in RM. Such code decodes into just a byte or two plus the protocol name, device and sub device. Protocol upgrade code is essentially a template for all commands of a particular type, not a single command.

IR Scrutinizer should decde your modified code.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ckeays



Joined: 12 Jan 2015
Posts: 126
Location: Toronto, Ontario

                    
PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is a screenshot of Remotemaster:


I am trying to edit the advanced details textbox but the program won't allow editing.

I can however edit the Signal Data but I have no way of decoding it to a format I can understand (like in the advanced details)

mdavej I have no idea what you are saying.
Are you saying that IRScrutinizer will decode and allow editing and then re-encode? Would I be able to import an rmir file and decode the string?

I looked at that program but it is a lot of what I don't need and quite frankly it's a bit overwhelming. So many error messages, I always just gave up.

Decoding does nothing if I can't modify it and encode it again for programming the remote with remotemaster.

I don't want to capture data or analyze it with this program. I have a logic analyzer that I prefer to use.

It would be nice for a simple editor to be able to do it right in the rmir file (if possible).

Here's my question again.

I want to edit this string for use in remotemaster:
Code:
14 27 18 00 D2 83 24 24 55 55 55 55 44 44 44 45 44 45 55 54 44 44 55 51 30 82 30

I am looking for a program that will allow decoding and editing of the above signal data.

In the past I had to find another command (from another remote file) and copy and paste the above signal data in order to change it. That's a lot to do when the program SHOULD do it for you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 4500

                    
PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2016 9:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

We have much simpler ways to tweak codes in NEC format. If you change the waveforms in the wrong way, it will no longer be NEC, but some custom protocol. You can certainly make your own custom protocol as well with our tools, which we can also help with, if we fully understand your goals and reasons.

Please post your RMIR file and tell me the address where you're finding this code.

In the 20 years some form of RM has been around and tens of thousands of users, you're the first who's asked to edit the raw learned waveforms directly in RM. We have other tools for that like Scrutinizer and RM's built in protocol editor, among other things.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ckeays



Joined: 12 Jan 2015
Posts: 126
Location: Toronto, Ontario

                    
PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2016 11:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your response.

I figured out what I was trying to do but it's not very easy to say the least!!

I have a Channel Master DVR+ (a DVR for antenna channels).

The protocol is a variation of the nec2 (perhaps nec2-rnc) where the last byte before the stop sequence is not the same. (The nibbles are swapped.)

there is a discussion about it here:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=14906&sid=37af0c23e2d9c679ca9b5d1826b5b0c7

For some reason my learning remote would not learn two of the commands, ON button and OFF buttons (two different buttons).

It learned all the other commands, however the on button and off button control the DVR and the TV both at the same time.

Therefore the learning remote stops capturing right after the TV code is sent, then does not capture the DVR command which is sent after the TV command.

I figured out these commands with my logic analyzer.

I wanted a way to create the code string.

I found it with Makehex. I even found a GUI for makehex.

Trouble is the last byte comes out as the inverse of the command (typical NEC) which is no good for the channel master.

So I had to manually swap the nibbles in the hex data and copy and paste in ir.exe.

ir.exe converts the data from pronto hex to UEI data automatically.

It would be nice if it would convert the UEI data to pronto hex or even raw format! or maybe another program to do it

Now the commands are working to turn off and on the dvr.
If anyone needs the remote dump please let me know I will gladly post it.
I am using an RCA RCRP05b learning remote. I also have the atlas 5 Device remote working as well.

There has got to be a better way of doing this!!
Perhaps changing or adding another IRP file in makehex??
Or maybe the makehex.exe needs to be changed?

Unfortunately I am no good with windows applications. I can however do it in assembly on a microcontroller.

Anyone?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 4500

                    
PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2016 11:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This has a very simple solution. No need to reinvent the wheel. The Power button on your remote model cannot have a learned command and will indeed send a power macro to your TV and DVR. So that's not an option.

Just use one of the many DVR+ upgrades we've already built, like this one:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=13871 (pick your remote model when you open it)

Then add the correct OBCs for On and Off from this thread:
http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin/mboard/rc-pronto/thread.cgi?27602
(On is apparently 46 and Off is 47)

Makehex and the GUI (I'm the author of the GUI program) have been superseded byIR Scrutinizer.

Luckily for you, neither Remote Master nor Scrutinizer are windows applications, but cross-platform java applications.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ckeays



Joined: 12 Jan 2015
Posts: 126
Location: Toronto, Ontario

                    
PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2016 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mdavej wrote:
Then add the correct OBCs for On and Off from this thread:
http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin/mboard/rc-pronto/thread.cgi?27602
(On is apparently 46 and Off is 47)


Well I wish I knew this before, it would have saved me a morning. Thanks for the tip.

I want to build a simple cable to capture IR using IR Scrutinizer.

I have lots of parts here and I have a computer with a serial port. In fact I would prefer a cable using the serial port rather than the usb if available.

If anyone has a cable schematic please let me know where I can download it.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 4500

                    
PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2016 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This might work for you. Barf would need to confirm.

http://www.instructables.com/id/IR-Receiver-for-Infrared-Capture/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Barf
Expert


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 1402
Location: Munich, Germany

                    
PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2016 1:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I already gave an answer at remotecentral

mdavej wrote:
This might work for you. Barf would need to confirm.

http://www.instructables.com/id/IR-Receiver-for-Infrared-Capture/

Sigh... This is essentially the (in)famous Lirc serial device. It requires the CPU to be involved one or two times per duration in the demodulated signal (i.e. normally every few hundred micro seconds) --without even giving you the modulation frequency. So if you are using Linux and do not do anything else with that PC, it might work using the lirc_serial driver (which makes the captured durations available at /dev/lirc). Actually, the development version of IrScrutinizer supports /dev/lirc, so it should be work...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ckeays



Joined: 12 Jan 2015
Posts: 126
Location: Toronto, Ontario

                    
PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2016 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Guys,

Thanks for the response. I broke down and purchased a USBToyV2. I will just have to wait because it's coming from China.

I thought there might be a circuit for an avr mcu since I don't do pic and I didn't want to wait a month to get the item.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yaworski



Joined: 22 Jun 2014
Posts: 454
Location: Warsaw, Poland

                    
PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2016 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@ckeays, yes, there is an AVR solution:
https://learn.adafruit.com/using-an-infrared-library/hardware-needed

I don't know how well it works because I've just googled it.
_________________
Marcin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ckeays



Joined: 12 Jan 2015
Posts: 126
Location: Toronto, Ontario

                    
PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 8:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yaworski wrote:
@ckeays, yes, there is an AVR solution:
https://learn.adafruit.com/using-an-infrared-library/hardware-needed
I don't know how well it works because I've just googled it.

Thanks for the information. I didn't see how this would work with irscrutinizer. It looks pretty complicated otherwise.

I have a really old VB program and hex code for a 90S2313 that will capture IR data and output raw data strings probably compatible with IRscrutinizer.
(it's been about 10 years, I can't remember)

Program is called TWIRP.

In my house the wife or kids often drop the remote and sometimes the non JP1 remote is not replaceable. Knowing the commands for each key before the remote is damaged certainly helps a lot.

I think we went through about 11 dishnetwork remotes in the last 5 years!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yaworski



Joined: 22 Jun 2014
Posts: 454
Location: Warsaw, Poland

                    
PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 8:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@ckeays: it probably won't work with IRscrutinizer (at least not out of the box) but the IRlib for AVR seems to do pretty good job itself at decoding the signal and printing out protocol, value and timings.

I think that with some work it could work with the IRscrutinizer.

You can also look here:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/wiki/index.php?title=IrScrutinizer_Guide#Arduino

Here's a compatible firmware for AVR:
https://github.com/bengtmartensson/AGirs

You can find hardware configuration on the AGirs github page.
_________________
Marcin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Barf
Expert


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 1402
Location: Munich, Germany

                    
PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chris Young's IRLib is a simple library for the Arduino, supporting demodulating sensors. It is essentially a library, with some simple sketches printing to a serial console. It recognizes a few protocols (from memory between 5 and 10), but not using the parametrization that we are used to here. For example, the NEC1 protocol, we know as a protocol with three parameters D, S, and F, but IRLib bundles them together, using the wrong byte order, into one 32 bit parameter (the fourth byte is F complemented).

IrScrutinizer does not support IRLib, and I seen no reason to do so. Instead AGirs is an "interactive program" for the Arduino, communicating with the host over a serial line (in USB disguise). It is built on top of another IR library, Infrared4Arduino, which "replaces" IRLib. As opposed to IRLib, it supports non-demodulating receivers (TSMP-58000, QSE-15*, etc), thus allowing for more accurate measurements, also measuring the carrier frequency.

Please also see this article for a possible hardware setup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Top 7 Advantages of Playing Online Slots The Evolution of Remote Control