JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Getting all the codes stored in the remote memory

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rakesh77



Joined: 21 Mar 2015
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat Feb 20, 2016 3:37 am    Post subject: Getting all the codes stored in the remote memory Reply with quote

I am Using one for all URC 7960

I want to get all the codes stored in the permanent memory of the remote... Is there any method for that? Any tool anything?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 2870
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Sat Feb 20, 2016 7:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It depends on what your question means. If you want a list of all the setup codes such as TV/1308, DVD/0898, then they are listed in the RDF, which is a plain text file. The last section, [SetupCodes], lists them for each device type. The device types there are described by numbers, 0 to 3, and the [DeviceTypes] section gives the number for each type, e.g. TV is 0, DVD is 1.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rakesh77



Joined: 21 Mar 2015
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat Feb 20, 2016 8:04 am    Post subject: Getting all the codes stored in the remote memory Reply with quote

I have this code 0141 stored in the remote memory, i need to modify it for device upgrade. so how can i do it? i will check the rdf file...

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6948
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sat Feb 20, 2016 10:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Judging from your other post, you are under the impression that all that information that you entered in rmir/rm is uploaded to the remote. That is not true! When you download from a remote you only get the assigned values. Any descriptive function names are lost as well as any unassigned functions.

Once you document your rmir file you always start from that file.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central