JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

RS 2116 - "No response from the remote" HELP

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Rayzz



Joined: 20 Nov 2003
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2004 9:35 pm    Post subject: RS 2116 - "No response from the remote" HELP Reply with quote

Wth a little local help, I've gotten re-engaged with JP-1. Managed to pull down the Samsung 160 SAT box file, put it into Keymaster, then to IR and loaded it to the remote via IR. I had to put new batteries into the remote before I could start.

Everything seems to have worked and the 2116 now controls the Samsung. I went back in to try and change an EFC in the Sony TV device. I'm now getting a message that says:

"No response from the remote. Make sure your interface is plugged into JP1 properly."

Also - the LCD screen shows losta garbage when I try to upload/download

Nothing changed from when I unplugged/replugged 1 minute earlier. I have:
1) Jiggled the connection.

2) Replugged/unplugged several times.

3) Closed/reopened IR.

4) Checked the parallel connection

5) Checked the port address (checked them all)

6) Checked several transmission delay settings

7) JP1 wires appear to be connected properly.

Since this is the first time I've gotten this far into this, I am really stumped and any help will be appreciated.

The only thing that changed from when it worked to when it doesn't is a successful upload.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gfb107
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3388
Location: Cary, NC

PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2004 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any chance you've got the cable plugged in backwards?

Also try with and without batteries in the remote. Do you remember if you changed the batteries before or after you uploaded successfully? If after, you might also try the old batteries.
_________________
-- Greg
Original RemoteMaster developer
JP1 How-To's and Software Tools
The #1 Code Search FAQ and it's answer (PLEASE READ FIRST)


Last edited by gfb107 on Wed Mar 03, 2004 9:39 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mark Pierson
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3006
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2004 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That message combined with the garbled LCD would seem to indicate the remote needs to be reset. Being an LCD remote, I think what you want is the MFR RESET as opposed to the OPS RESET. Doing so will wipe out the contents of the EEPROM, so I hope you have a saved IR file?
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18558
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2004 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

More info here...
http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin/mboard/rc-one4all/thread.cgi?2448

1) Hold SETUP (green P), till screen reads "CODE SET"
2) Press RECORD
3) Select MFR RESET from the LCD menu.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Rayzz



Joined: 20 Nov 2003
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2004 10:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cable is very difficult to plug in backwards, so that hasn't been a problem.

Mark, your suggestion was correct and Rob - your directions were required.

I tried the MFR RESET witht hye batteries in & it didn't work. Took them out & it didn't work. eft them out for a few minutes and put them back in aaaannnnd - IT WORKED!!!!!

Fortunately, I DID save my first file, including the few EFC tweaks I made. Now its on to the Macros

Thanks very much for the help. I never would have gotten there myself.

As an aside, I am using thie 2116 for the small den setup (27" TV, HD Satellite, VCR). For the big HT setup I've got a MX-700 and it is incredible. I'm beginning to warm up to the JP-1 and it looks to be a bit more challenging and pretty interesting!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Hardware All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central