JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

JVC RM-C1900S

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Code Search
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
probono



Joined: 12 Aug 2012
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2013 11:27 am    Post subject: JVC RM-C1900S Reply with quote

The codes of my JVC RM-C1900S are as shown below. How do I know which setup code on the OFA remote really sends these most closely? Using automatic search, I have found a code that appears to work but for example sends a different code for "AV" (original code: protocol = JVC, device = 15, obc = 26), JP1 remote sends something that the TV set also reacts to but in a different way (protocol = JVC, device = 3, obc = 19). I could probably overwrite that button using an upgrade file, a keymove, and/or a learned code, but I would assume there must be an easier way?
Code:
protocol = JVC, device = 3, obc = 28 # mute
protocol = JVC, device = 3, obc = 23 # power
protocol = JVC, device = 3, obc = 33 # 1
protocol = JVC, device = 3, obc = 34 # 2
protocol = JVC, device = 3, obc = 35 # 3
protocol = JVC, device = 3, obc = 36 # 4
protocol = JVC, device = 3, obc = 37 # 5
protocol = JVC, device = 3, obc = 38 # 6
protocol = JVC, device = 3, obc = 39 # 7
protocol = JVC, device = 3, obc = 40 # 8
protocol = JVC, device = 3, obc = 41 # 9
protocol = JVC, device = 3, obc = 4 # i
protocol = JVC, device = 3, obc = 32 # 0
protocol = JVC, device = 15, obc = 26 # AV
protocol = JVC, device = 35, obc = 60 # red
protocol = JVC, device = 35, obc = 61 # green
protocol = JVC, device = 35, obc = 62 # yellow
protocol = JVC, device = 35, obc = 63 # blue
protocol = JVC, device = 67, obc = 16 # TV
protocol = JVC, device = 3, obc = 122 # menu
protocol = JVC, device = 35, obc = 19 # top_menu
protocol = JVC, device = 3, obc = 230 # back
protocol = JVC, device = 3, obc = 31 # vol-
protocol = JVC, device = 3, obc = 30 # vol+
protocol = JVC, device = 3, obc = 24 # p-
protocol = JVC, device = 3, obc = 25 # p+
protocol = JVC, device = 3, obc = 91 # left
protocol = JVC, device = 3, obc = 124 # up
protocol = JVC, device = 3, obc = 90 # right
protocol = JVC, device = 3, obc = 123 # down
protocol = JVC, device = 3, obc = 10 # OK
protocol = JVC, device = 35, obc = 17 # func1
protocol = JVC, device = 35, obc = 9 # rew
protocol = JVC, device = 35, obc = 4 # play
protocol = JVC, device = 35, obc = 48 # ffwd
protocol = JVC, device = 35, obc = 2 # func2
protocol = JVC, device = 35, obc = 50 # rec
protocol = JVC, device = 35, obc = 21 # stop
protocol = JVC, device = 35, obc = 6 # pause
protocol = JVC, device = 3, obc = 147 # zoom
protocol = JVC, device = 3, obc = 66 # func3
protocol = JVC, device = 15, obc = 96 # func4
protocol = JVC, device = 15, obc = 97 # func5

Note that there are different devices used on this OEM remote. Can this even be replicated with just one set up code on the OFA remotes?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3219

PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2013 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're supposed to fill out the template (See announcements at the top of this sub forum). But I'll assume that you're working with a URC-2981.

The first thing to notice is that this is the JVC IR protocol, but with mulitple device numbers. That's a clue that you should be looking for a Combo executor. Using the Lookup Tool (link at the top of the page) and searching on JVC protocols, we see that some remotes have a simple JVC executor, and nearly all newer remotes have an executor called JVC Combo.

The URC-2981 is a new remote and it isn't included in the Lookup Tool, so that makes finding the candidate setup codes more difficult. But since I worked with you on making the RDF file, I know that PID 0098 has the following:
Code:

TV 0653, 1653, 1818, 2118
Cable 1901
Audio 1374
So you could try those, with the TV setup codes being the most likely to succeed.

Since you have the decodes of all functions, there are two other ways of proceeding, and most JP1 folks would use one of these.

1) Keymoves. If you have a setup code that is almost correct, and only a couple of functions need to be added or revised, you can use RMIR, select JVC Combo as the executor on the Devices Tab, and enter the device and OBC numbers. RM will calculate the corresponding EFCs, and you can then add these to the Keymove tab of RMIR. Or you could enter the EFCs manually with the 994 command.

2) Most user will just make an upgrade. Enter the learned device numbers, OBCs, and function names on the Devices Tab. You can do an entire column by pasting it into RM. From your post above, I copied the code section into Notepad+ as a text editor, which can select columns of text. Of course if you've learned the signals and have them in the Learned Signal Tab, the numbers are already parsed into columns. Then assign the buttons. When I first started using JP1, I though this seemed in some sense wasteful, since a nearly correct setup code already existed. So I'd use keymoves. Over time, I've joined the majority, and just make an upgrade. It also allows you to give back to the community by posting your upgrade. Then folks without a learning remote have access to working signals.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
probono



Joined: 12 Aug 2012
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2013 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks 3FG. I was using setup code 0653 and will now try the others. Sorry for not posting in the right format, will promise to do so next time. Your guesses were all correct.

I am still very new to all of this so please forgive my slowness. Will experiment with all ways you described and post the results.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
probono



Joined: 12 Aug 2012
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2013 1:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Trying the upgrade route first, I entered under "Setup" Setup Code 7777, Protocol JVC Combo, and under "Functions":
Code:
mute   62210   244   28   3   3F C7
power   62418   122   23   3   3F 17
1   62398   217   33   3   3F 7B
2   62334   215   34   3   3F BB
3   62462   219   35   3   3F 3B
4   62238   212   36   3   3F DB
5   62366   216   37   3   3F 5B
6   62302   214   38   3   3F 9B
7   62430   218   39   3   3F 1B
8   62254   085   40   3   3F EB
9   62382   089   41   3   3F 6B
i   62234   180   4   3   3F DF
0   62270   213   32   3   3F FB
AV   29282   247   26   15   0F A7
red   04870   020   60   35   3B C3
green   04998   024   61   35   3B 43
yellow   04934   022   62   35   3B 83
blue   05062   026   63   35   3B 03
TV   58162   117   16   67   3D F7
menu   62308   007   122   3   3F A1
top_menu   05106   123   19   35   3B 37
back   62301   206   230   3   3F 98
vol-   62402   250   31   3   3F 07
vol+   62274   246   30   3   3F 87
p-   62242   245   24   3   3F E7
p+   62370   249   25   3   3F 67
left   62432   235   91   3   3F 25
up   62212   004   124   3   3F C1
right   62304   231   90   3   3F A5
down   62436   011   123   3   3F 21
OK   62314   055   10   3   3F AF
func1   05042   121   17   35   3B 77
rew   05034   057   9   35   3B 6F
play   04890   180   4   35   3B DF
ffwd   04918   149   48   35   3B F3
func2   04986   183   2   35   3B BF
rec   04982   151   50   35   3B B3
stop   05010   120   21   35   3B 57
pause   04954   182   6   35   3B 9F
zoom   62451   131   147   3   3F 36
func3   62328   167   66   3   3F BD
func4   29244   197   96   15   0F F9
func5   29372   201   97   15   0F 79

Under Buttons, I assigned each button to a function.
Under Layout, Key Map, and Output I did not touch anything.
Under Output, I get
Code:
Upgrade Code2 = 1E 61 (TV/7777) Und (RM v2.02 Beta 1.5w)
 00 98 3E 76 FA BF 3F 87 3F 07 3F C7 3F 67 3F E7
 3F 17 0F A7 3F A1 3F C1 3F 21 3F 25 3F A5 3F AF
 3B 57 3B B3 3B C3 3B 43 3B 83 3B 03 3F 98
KeyMoves
 22 F0 05 16 61 00 13 AArew
 23 F0 05 16 61 00 13 1Aplay
 24 F0 05 16 61 00 13 5Apause
 25 F0 05 16 61 00 13 36ffwd
End
and
Code:
Upgrade protocol 0 = 00 98 (S3F80) JVC Combo (RM v2.02 Beta 1.5w)
 43 8B 02 8B 19 CC D9 80 20 08 08 01 07 00 F4 01
 07 03 03 73 50 10 7C 08 2A 00 03 00 59 8C 8D 01
 46
End

Under General, I assigned setup code 7777 to button AUX.

But when I upload this and press AUX and then some buttons, then the remote sends totally different codes, like
Code:
protocol = MCE, device = 4, subdevice = 15, obc = 1, misc = T=1
protocol = MCE, device = 4, subdevice = 15, obc = 2, misc = T=0
protocol = MCE, device = 4, subdevice = 15, obc = 3, misc = T=1

Could it be that the URC-2981 RDF isn't working properly, or am I doing something wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
probono



Joined: 12 Aug 2012
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2013 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now trying the keymove route.

From the Device Upgrade Editor, Functions tab I can see that the EFC5 code for Device 3, OBC 26 is 29282. Knowing this information, it was easy to set up a keymove using the "Key Moves" tab and entering TV, Setup Code 0653, EFC-5 29282. Now the AV button on the OFA remote behaves like the button on the OEM remote. This mission is accomplished, but I am still interested in getting the upgrade route to work as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3573

PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2013 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Post your files. Looks like you either picked the wrong device type in General or have VPT turned on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
probono



Joined: 12 Aug 2012
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2013 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which files? Assuming that you mean the jvc.rmdu that I created:
Code:
Remote.name=URC 11-2981 R00
Remote.signature=329304
SegmentFlags=255
DeviceType=TV
DeviceIndex=0
SetupCode=7777
Protocol=00 98
Protocol.name=JVC Combo
FixedData=
Function.0.name=mute
Function.0.hex=3F C7
Function.1.name=power
Function.1.hex=3F 17
Function.2.name=1
...

As "Device Type" I had selected "TV". Do you mean "Volume Punch Through" with "VPT"? Yes, I have enabled that, is it a problem? Disabling it now... Also with all Punch Throughs disabled the situation does not change.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3573

PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2013 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RMDU and RMIR (or IR). And by post, I mean upload to the diag area of the file section, not post the text.

Volume Punch Thru remaps the vol keys, giving you unexpected results if you have any commands on those keys. Same goes for channel lock, if your remote has that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
probono



Joined: 12 Aug 2012
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2013 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Done Smile

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=11927
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3219

PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2013 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You have to assign the setup code to some device on the General tab. The remote has no way to know that you want to use that upgrade

Note that your remote (a JP1.4) is sufficiently new that a 7777 setup code is valid. Many older remotes are limited to 2047, and most JP1.3 remotes are limited to 4095. So 7777 may confuse some of us a bit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
probono



Joined: 12 Aug 2012
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2013 4:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Interesting. I had assigned AUX in the General tab to TV, 7777, then uploaded. But when I download, the code is reset to Cable, 1272...

Now I changed the upgrade to use TV, 1111 and assigned that to AUX to in the General tab. Now it is no longer changed when being up- and downloaded, and voila, everything is working! (Tested it also with 4095, works too. So maybe mine has a limit as well.)

Thanks so much for your help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Code Search All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central