JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

VU+ Solo2 Discrete ON/OFF

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Discrete Codes
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Busa



Joined: 27 Dec 2005
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2013 3:57 pm    Post subject: VU+ Solo2 Discrete ON/OFF Reply with quote

Hi,

I have a new satellite receiver. This is the VU+ Solo2.
I found the RM file from alanrichey that was made for VU+ Ultimo but works perfectly.

The VU+ use this protocol: MCE/Device 16/OEM2 82/Fixed data E2 80 52 10
The Power Key is: EFC 050/OBC 12/Hex 0C
This is a normal Power key that work like a toggle:
depress #1 = ON, depress #2 = OFF, depress #3 = ON, depress #4 = OFF,...

The fact is that I realy need discrete ON and OFF for my whole system to work.
(macro for power ON and power OFF home cinema system)
After some reaserch, I found that this protocol use toggle bit.
So, I made the following test.
I learn the 1st power depress on the 1 Key and the 2nd power depress on the 2 Key.
And tadaaaa! It works!
The 1 Key is now a discrete ON and the 2 Key is now a discrete OFF.

My problem is the following:
How include the both learned signal in the protocol given by alanrichey.
When I go to the Learned Signals tab in IR, this is what I have:

Protocol | Device | Sub-Device | OBC | HexCmd | EFC | Misc
MCE | 16 | 82 | 12 | 0C | 050 | T=0 | (Discrete OFF)
MCE | 16 | 82 | 12 | 0C | 050 | T=1 | (Discrete ON)


As you can see, EFC 050/OBC 12/Hex 0C are the same for both Discrete ON and Discrete OFF.
The only thing that change is T=1 for Discrete ON and T=0 for Discrete OFF.
I don' see were I can put this info back to remotemaster the modify the rmdu file.


Thanks for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3241

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2013 10:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This will probably require a custom executor. What remote are you using?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Busa



Joined: 27 Dec 2005
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2013 1:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is a One for All URC-7556.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3241

PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2013 1:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ouch! That's a HSC08 remote, and I'm not familiar with the assembler. Still, I'll try to look a the S3F80 executor, which should attempt to do the same things as the HSC08 executor. Maybe we can see away to get what you want.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6975
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2013 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Busa

Why can't you use the learns? Is there an extender for this remote?

I'm really surprised your 1, 2 thing works. Typically any keystroke is ignored if the toggle is not right.

I am an HCS08 specialist. So I can work on an executor, if its needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3241

PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2013 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Of course Vicky is right. If you have functioning learns, just use them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Busa



Joined: 27 Dec 2005
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2013 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, you are right Vicky!
I just move the two learned signals to Phantom14 and Phantom15 keys and it works like a charm.
Sometimes the things seems harder than they really are.

Just for my personal knowledge, is it easy, hard or impossible to build an RMDU file that include all the original keys plus the two learned signals.
I think that it could be usefull if I want to share my VU+Solo2 file to someone that have an different remote control.
(Simply copy and paste the protocol in IR.)

Anyway, thank you all for your ideas and suggetions.

Busa
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3785

PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2013 2:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First, try the easy solution and see if these work:

Command EFC
PowerOn 00075
PowerOff 00099

Otherwise, would it be possible to use the RC6-M-32 protocol instead with the appropriate toggle settings to suppress the toggle? I'm thinking you'd have a total of 3 upgrades and combine them with device combiner. Upgrade 1 would be standard MCE with all commands except discrete power. Upgrade 2 would be RC6-M-32 with just the discrete off as the only function, toggle off, and subdevice matching the value required for T=0. Upgrade 3 would be like 2 except for discrete on and T=1.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Busa



Joined: 27 Dec 2005
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2013 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi mdavej,

The easy solution is not the good one because the EFC 075 is already assigned to the Rewind << function.
I test the EFC 099 to be sure but it does nothing. Sad

I don't know how the device combiner works.
I need to be put on the right way to do that (What software should I use, what settings,..)

If you want to have a look, I just uploaded 2 files in the diagnostic area.
The first is the VU+ Solo2 upgrade (RMDU).
The second is my complete URC-7556 ir file with all my devices.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3785

PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2013 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In RM, just pick "Device Combiner" in the protocol drop down. Then you get a new Device Combiner tab where you can add your 3 devices. You'll have to read the protocol notes for each to get the right settings.

I was throwing the RC6 protocol option out there as a possibility. I'm not certain it would actually work, but it's worth a try. You can test it by skipping the combiner part for now and just making a device upgrade with settings I described, in order to test the concept for your discrete power commands.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6975
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2013 6:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Busa wrote:
Just for my personal knowledge, is it easy, hard or impossible to build an RMDU file that include all the original keys plus the two learned signals.
I think that it could be usefull if I want to share my VU+Solo2 file to someone that have an different remote control.

In this case it just doesn't seem to be worth the effort. You can transfer the learn to most remotes. Sometimes it's hard to do because you need to delve into assembler. In this case it is a different language than the majority so to share it you would need to do both languages. If you had needed the signals for a non-learner or a remote using an extender there would have been more incentive to get it done. And before trying an executor approach, testing all possible obc's to see if there already is a discrete would be a better option. Or had you already done that.

There is a lot we can do with custom executors.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Busa



Joined: 27 Dec 2005
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2013 12:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After a lot of tests, it works !
I do exactly as mdavej told me but have some difficulties to find the right settings.
Summary:
* In SETUP tab, choose Device combiner (Protocol 01 44).
* In DEVICE COMBINER tab, add 3 protocols

- The 1st is MCE (Protocol 01 2A) with Device=16 and OEM2=82.
I use this protocol for all functions except discrete power.
- The 2nd is RC6-M-32 (Protocol 01 2A) with Device=128, Sub-device=21008 (16+256*82+0), M=6, RC6 T-bit=0, MCE toggle=no.
I use this protocol for Discrete ON (EFC=050).
- The 3rd is RC6-M-32 (Protocol 01 2A) with Device=128, Sub-device=21136 (16+256*82+128), M=6, RC6 T-bit=0, MCE toggle=no.
I use this protocol for Discrete OFF (EFC=050).

* In FUNCTION tab, create all function choosing the right device and the right EFC.

Thanks to everyone for support.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chal5oye



Joined: 18 Jan 2014
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2014 5:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm thinking you'd have a total of 3 upgrades and combine them with device combiner. Upgrade 1 would be standard MCE with all commands except discrete power. Upgrade 2 would be RC6-M-32 with just the discrete off as the only function, toggle off, and subdevice matching the value required for T=0. Upgrade 3 would be like 2 except for discrete on and T=1.
_________________
Download high quality Pass4sure 640-554 dumps to prepare and pass wikipedia with oracle certification dumps certification. Also get free demos of University of Pennsylvania for review of jncia training.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Discrete Codes All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central