JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Scientific Atlanta 3100HD Cable box- Discrete Codes

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Discrete Codes
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
miketchow



Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2004 8:25 am    Post subject: Scientific Atlanta 3100HD Cable box- Discrete Codes Reply with quote

Just wanted to confirm that Scientific Atlanta has no discrete codes for the subject cable box. Thanks..
_________________
Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
miketchow



Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2004 6:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could anyone confirm this? No discrete on/off code for SA 3100HD.

Thanks,
_________________
Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jon_armstrong
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 1238
Location: R.I.P. 3/25/2005

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2004 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mike,

I don't have the hardware but monitor the Remote Central discrete forum and although this type of question is asked seveal times a week I have never heard of anyone finding discrete commands.

I don't think any SA cable box has discrete commands and I can't think of ANY cable box that does. The function portion of the signal only has 6-bits (64 possibilities) so you can quickly test, but IMO you are wasting your time.

Besides, cable boxes and DSS STB's consume about the same amount of power On or Off. So my usual advice is to leave it ON and key move a useless command onto the power button for the CBL device so no one can turn it off.
_________________
-Jon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
miketchow



Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2004 6:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just read this but thanks for confirmation.
_________________
Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2004 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The old SA cable boxes had a discrete Off command, a toggle On/Off command and several other commands (such as CH+) acted as On commands (instead of, not in addition to, their normal function) if the box were off.

They seem to have dropped all that from all their recent boxes, even though most of the IR commands remained the same.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
miketchow



Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2004 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi John, thanks for the confirmation.
_________________
Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Discrete Codes All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central